Faculty directory

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey
Serving as Acting Associate Vice President Academic Planning
Remedies, insurance, torts, feminist analysis of law, law and society, and race, ethnicity, and the law. 

John Borrows
Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law
On leave until Dec 31, 2021

250-721-8168
Indigenous law, environmental law, constitutional law.

Susan Breau
Dean of Law

250-721-8147
lawdean@uvic.ca

Law of armed conflict, international humanitarian law, international human rights law and international disaster law.

Brad Bryan

250-721-8164
bwb@uvic.ca

Taxation law, First Nations taxation.

Gillian Calder
On leave until June 30, 2022

250-721-5127
gcalder@uvic.ca

Family law and social issues, constitutional law, gender equality.

Jamie L Cassels, QC
On leave until May 2022

Remedies, legal theory, contracts, torts.

Kathryn Chan 

250-721-8163
kmchan@uvic.ca

Nonprofit sector law, law and religion, administrative law and regulation, trusts, the law of gift.

Patricia Cochran

250-721-8183

Constitutional law, political and legal theory, law of evidence, human rights, social welfare law.

Deborah L Curran,
Executive Director, Environmental Law Centre
On leave until Dec 31, 2021

250-853-3105
dlc@uvic.ca
Water law, municipal law, growth management and land use law, environmental law, agricultural land and food systems, real estate and shared-decision making.

Maneesha Deckha
Lansdowne Chair in Law

250-721-8175
mdeckha@uvic.ca
Animal legal studies, feminist animal care theory and feminist analysis of law, critical animal studies, postcolonial theory, reproductive and end-of-life law and ethics, administrative law.

Gerry Ferguson

250-721-8174
gferguso@uvic.ca
Corruption, criminal law, criminal procedure, sentencing, mental health law.

Mark R Gillen 

250-721-8169
mgillen@uvic.ca
Securities, trusts, business associations, tax and competition law.

Donna Greschner

250-721-8866
dgresch@uvic.ca
Constitutional law, comparative constitutional law, human rights (focus on equality rights), political and legal theory.

Alan Hanna

250-472-5247
ahanna@uvic.ca

Aboriginal law, Indigenous lands, rights and governance.
Robert Howell 250-721-8186
rhowell@uvic.ca
Intellectual property, technology, telecommunications, private international law.
Ireh Iyioha

250-721-6299
iiyioha@uvic.ca

Jurisprudence, international human rights law, feminist legal theory, torts, healthcare law, and women's health and the law.

Rebecca Johnson
Director, Graduate Program

250-721-8187
rjohnson@uvic.ca
Criminal law, legal process, business associations.

Asad Kiyani

250-472-5042
akiyani@uvic.ca

Immigration and refugee law, domestic and international criminal law, evidence, postcolonial theory, legal pluralism, and comparative law.

Freya Kodar
On leave until June 30, 2022

250-721-8190
fkodar@uvic.ca
Pension (public and private), consumer law and policy, debt and credit regulation, income security, care work, disability and the law.

Robert Lapper, QC
Dorothy & David Lam Chair in Law and Public Policy

250-721-7647 
rlapper@uvic.ca
Access to justice, justice innovation, public policy, professional regulation and ethics, Aboriginal law. 

Michelle Lawrence  
Associate Dean, Administration and Research

250-721-8161
law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca
Criminal law, evidence, sentencing, substance abuse and mental disorder, relationship violence, police accountability.
Darcy Lindberg

250-721-8182
darcylin@uvic.ca

Indigenous law, ecological governance through Indigenous legal orders, gender and Indigenous ceremonies, Indigenous treaty making.
Tracey Lindberg

250-721-8894
tlindberg@uvic.ca

Traditional Indigenous governments, Cree laws, translation between Canadian and Indigenous laws, Indigenous women, legal advocacy and activism.
Geoffrey Loomer
On leave until Dec 31, 2021

250-721-8173
geoffreyloomer@uvic.ca

International and comparative taxation law and corporate taxation. 

Colin Macleod  

250-721-7521
cmacleod@uvic.ca
Philosophy, liberal equality.
David Milward

250-721-8154
davidmilward@uvic.ca

Criminal law, Indigenous justice, and evidence.

Ted L. McDorman 

250-721-8181
tlmcdorm@uvic.ca
Public international law, international ocean law.

Sarah Morales
On leave until June 30, 2022

250-721-8184
smorales@uvic.ca 

Aboriginal law, Indigenous legal traditions and international human rights.

Val Napoleon
Director, JD/JID program
Law Foundation Chair of Indigenous Justice and Governance

250-721-8172
jiddirector@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal traditions, Indigenous feminist legal studies, governance, restorative justice, Indigenous property law, Aboriginal legal issues.

Andrew Newcombe 
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250-721-8152
lawassoc@uvic.ca
International investment law and arbitration, international trade law and contracts.

Pooja Parmar 

250-721-8179

legal pluralism, legal ethics, int’l human rights law, legal history, law and colonialism.

Stephen Perks
Acting Director of the Law Centre Clinical Legal Education Program

250-385-1221
steve.perks@thelawcentre.ca

Clinical and public legal education.

Janna Promislow

250-472-5027
jannap@uvic.ca

Aboriginal administrative law, treaty relationships and interpretation.

Victor V. Ramraj
Director, Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives (CAPI)
250-721-7024
Comparative constitutional and administrative law (SE Asia), transnational regulation, law and globalization, emergency powers in Asia.

Sara Ramshaw 
Director, Cultural, Social and Political Thought (CSPT)

250-721-8165 sararamshaw@uvic.ca

Family law, human rights, contracts, arts-based approaches to law, law and the humanities, improvisation and the law, legal theory/jurisprudence.
Tim Richards
Director, First-Year Legal Research and Writing Program
250-721-8185
trichard@uvic.ca
Human rights law, poverty and social policy, legal skills education.

Supriya Routh 

250-853-3167
srouth@uvic.ca
Work and labour law, international labour law, atypical and informal workers in the global south, human rights.

Calvin Sandborn, QC
Legal Director of the Environmental Law Centre

250-472-5248
csandbor@uvic.ca
Environmental law, mining law and reform, plastics legislation.

Chris Tollefson
On leave until Dec 31, 2021

250-721-8170
ctollef@uvic.ca
Environmental law and litigation, sustainability, environmental governance, forestry, Aboriginal law, access to justice.

Jeremy Webber
On leave until June 30, 2022

250-721-8171
jwebber@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal rights, cultural diversity, constitutional theory.

Name

Phone

Email

Susan Breau
Dean of Law
250 721-8147
Michelle Lawrence
Associate Dean, Administration and Research
250 721-8161 law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca

Andrew Newcombe
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250 721-8152 lawassoc@uvic.ca
Rebecca Johnson
Director, Graduate Program
250 721-8175 gradlawdir@uvic.ca

Name

Course

Email

Ross Alexander 343-1: Information and Privacy Law (Fall) rossalexander@uvic.ca
Eszter Bodnár 374: Law of the European Union (Spring) ebodnar@uvic.ca
Oliver Brandes Adjunct Professor

omb@uvic.ca

Fernando De Lima 360-1: Legal Ethics (Spring)

fernando.delima@gov.bc.ca

Andrew Buck 343-3: Disposession: A Legal History of the Right to Vote (Fall) andrewbuck@uvic.ca
Colleen Cattell, QC 337: Dispute Resolution (Fall) colleen@cattelladr.com
Patrick Dudding 307B: Civil Procedure with Drafting (Fall) dudding@achesonlaw.ca
Avigail Eisenberg 343-2: Pluralism and Political Authority (Fall) avigaile@uvic.ca
Stephen Ferance 366: Patent Law (Fall) stephen.ferance@gowlingwlg.com
John Galius 340: Indigenous Lands, Rights and Governance (Spring)

Jonas Gifford 366: Patent Law (Fall)
Rebeca Baccarini Macias Gimenez 376: International Environmental Law (Spring)

Andrew Harding Adjunct Professor
Cindy Holder 343-4: Self-Determination of Peoples (Fall)

cholder@uvic.ca

Laura Johnston 343: Mental Health Law (Spring)
Valerie Le Blanc

388: ALRW (Fall & Spring)

vleblanc@uvic.ca

James Legh

320: Wills, Estates and Succession Planning (Spring)

legh@sll.ca

Michael Litchfield
Director, Business Law Clinic

105: Contracts (Fall)
349: Business Law Clinic

mlitchfield@thinklabconsulting.com

Jerry McHale Adjunct Professor

mjmchale@uvic.ca

Michael Munro 356-1: Advocacy (Fall & Spring) mjmbarrister@gmail.com
Jess Patterson 356-2: Advocacy (Fall)

Deanna Rivers

320: Wills, Estates and Succession Planning (Fall & Spring)

rivers@sll.ca

Alan Treleaven

Adjunct Professor
360-2: Legal Ethics (Fall)
109-3: Torts (Spring)

atreleaven@uvic.ca
604-809-9838

John Tuck 343-1: Information and Privacy Law (Fall)
Neil Vallance 317: Real Property Transactions (Spring)

nvallanc@uvic.ca

Ian Wiebe 355: Legal Skills (Spring)
Mark Zion 328: Green Legal Theory (Spring)

mzion@uvic.ca

Tom Zworski 383: Municipal Law & Sustainability (Spring)

tzworski@victoria.ca