Senate Committee on Planning

The Senate Committee on Planning considers and recommends to Senate proposals for the creation or disestablishment of programs, faculties, schools, departments, centres and institutes, and major modifications of existing programs.  The committee also assists and advises Senate in the formulation of appropriate academic policy.

Meeting dates and deadlines for 2023/24:

Deadline for Agenda Items Meeting Dates
August 23, 2023 September 13, 2023
September 20, 2023 October 4, 2023
October 18, 2023 November 1, 2023
November 22, 2023 December 6, 2023
December 13, 2023 January 10, 2024
January 17, 2024 February 7, 2024
February 21, 2024 March 6, 2024
March 20, 2024 April 3, 2024
April 17, 2024 May 1, 2024

Click here for the Committee's Terms of Reference

Annual Reports

Membership and Composition effective July 1, 2023

  Name                                Faculty or Department       Composition

Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey (Chair) Associate Vice-President Academic Programs
(ex-officio, voting)
Jie Zhang
(term ends June 30, 2024)
Peter B. Gustavson School of Business 10 faculty members representing the faculties (at least 2 of whom shall be members of Senate*)
Sandra Hundza *
(term ends June 30, 2025)
Pablo Restrepo Gautier
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Adam Con
(term ends June 30, 2025)
Fine Arts
Maureen Ryan
(term ends June 30, 2025)
Human and Social Development
Alexandrine Boudreault-Fournier
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Henning Struchtrup *
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Engineering and Computer Science
Geoff Loomer
(term ends December 31, 2026)
Eva Baboula
(term ends June 30, 2024)
Graduate Studies
Nilanjana Roy
(term ends June 30, 2024)
Social Sciences
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Medical Sciences 2 members representing the divisions (Continuing Studies and Medical Sciences)
Tania Muir
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Continuing Studies
Cole Kennedy
(term ends June 30, 2024)
Student Senator 2 students (1 undergraduate and 1 graduate); 1 student member of Senate and the other to be nominated by the UVSS or the GSS as appropriate
Khushi Wadhwa
(term ends June 30, 2024)

UVSS representative
Annalee Lepp
(term ends June 30, 2025)
Dean 1 Dean, other than the Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, nominated by the Deans
Robin Hicks
Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies
(ex-officio, voting)
Jane Butterfield
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
President's nominee
(ex-officio, voting)
Kristen Semmens
Vice-President Academic and Provost's designate Vice-President Academic Provost or designate
(ex-officio, voting)
Cynthia Milton
Vice-President Research and Innovation's designate
Vice-President  Research and Innovation or designate
(ex-officio, voting)
Wendy Taylor
Acting Registrar
(ex-officio, non-voting)
Andrea Giles Executive Director, Co-operative Education and Career Services Executive Director or designate, Co-operative Education and Career Services
(ex-officio, non-voting)
Ada Saab Associate University Secretary University Secretary or designate
(ex-officio, non-voting)
Sandra Duggan Office of the Vice-President Academic and Provost Secretary