Senate Committee on Agenda and Governance

The Senate Committee on Agenda and Governance assists the Chair of Senate in the preparation of the Senate agenda while ensuring that the agenda items clearly state a purpose and intent; recommends revisions to Senate’s Rules to Govern and deals with all matters of procedure that fall within the duties and power of Senate.  The committee considers and make recommendations to Senate with respect to the membership, procedures, structure and terms of reference of the Senate committees, and recommends to Senate appointments to the Senate standing committees and some advisory committees requiring Senate representation.

Meeting dates and deadlines for 2023/24:

Deadline for Agenda Items (12:00 pm) Meeting Dates
September 20, 2023 September 22, 2023
October 18, 2023 October 20, 2023
November 15, 2023 November 17, 2023
December 13, 2023 December 15, 2023
January 17, 2024 January 19, 2024
February 14, 2024 February 16, 2024
March 20, 2024 March 22, 2024
April 17, 2024 April 19, 2024

Click here for the Committee's Terms of Reference

Annual Reports

Membership and Composition effective July 1, 2023

  Name                                Faculty or Department       Composition

Kevin Hall (Chair) President and Vice-Chancellor President as Chair of Senate
(ex-officio, voting)
Robin Hicks (Vice-Chair)
(term ends October 4, 2024)
Graduate Studies
Vice-chair of Senate
Mark Laidlaw *
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Social Sciences

 5 members of Senate who are either faculty members, a professional librarian or a continuing sessional

*2 members from this category shall be elected to the Committee by Senate, in accordance with section 55.00 of the Senate Rules and Procedures

Phalguni Mukhopadhyaya*
(term ends June 30, 2025)
Engineering and Computer Science
Joseph Salem
(term ends June 30, 2025)
 Fine Arts
Martha McGinnis
(term ends June 30, 2026)
Graduate Studies
Lara Wilson
(term ends June 30, 2024)
Benjamin Fyfe
(term ends June 30, 2024)
1 student member of Senate
Alivia Wang
(term ends June 30, 2024)
1 convocation member of Senate
Elizabeth Croft
Vice-President Academic and Provost
(ex-officio, voting)
Carrie Andersen University Secretary
(ex-officio, non-voting)
Ada Saab Associate University Secretary Secretary

Kathy MacDonald

Senate Coordinator Recording Secretary