Students

Current LLM Stdents

Name

Interests

E-mail

Zehra Abrar

Private Military and Security Companies, Human Rights, Refugee Camps, Detention Centers​

munshizeh009@gmail.com

Adekunle Adewumi

Digital Economy, Rights and Data Protection 

Kunleadewumi14@gmail.com

Jessica Asch

Indigenous law questions relating to citizenship, gender, matrimonial property, dispute resolution, child welfare, and lands, water and resources

jessasch@uvic.ca

 

Love Babajide

Public International Law, Human Rights, International Criminal Law and Global Governance. 

lovebabajide@gmail.com

Monte Forster

mforster@uvic.ca

Antwi Frimpong

British Columbia's use of clinical legal education for access to justice, and what lessons the province may provide for Ghana to enhance its justice system.

afrimpong@uvic.ca

Kate Gower

kate@gowermodernlaw.com

 

Caroline Grady

Indigenous business law, including First Nations taxation, financing, and business structuring.

carolinegrady@gmail.com

Christina Gray

Indigenous constitutionalism and the intersection of Indigenous legal orders in human rights cases at provincial and federal tribunals.

christinagray@uvic.ca

Abishek Kaul

kaulabishek06@gmail.com

Resham Khanna

Intellectual property rights and biopiracy​

reshamkhanna1990@gmail.com

Toluwalope Kolawole

Environmental and energy law, alternative dispute resolution and collaborative governance​

tkolawole@uvic.ca

Maria Carolina Marinho Ribeiro

Violence against women and rape culture

carolmarinhor@hotmail.com

Chibueze Ngozi

chibuezengozi@gmail.com

Chinwendu Nwanisobi Environmental law and policy, transnational advocacy, human rights​

cnwanisobi@uvic.ca

Summer Okibe

summerokibe@gmail.com

Blessing Olaleye Transnational Law, Comparative Constitutional and Administrative law, Dispute Resolution,  International Relations, International trade and investment policy, Global Governance​

olaboyinde@outlook.com

 

Oluwasikemi Oluwatyui International taxation, trade and corporate finance

tonyoluwasikemi@gmail.com​

Ezinwanne Raymond Critical legal studies

raymondezinywanne@gmail.com

Current PhD students

Name

Interests

E-mail

Tamara Amoroso Gonsalves Children’s and women’s rights as human rights, advertising to children and its effects; women’s and girl’s trafficking for sexual exploitation; violence against women and sexual and reproductive rights.
Ryan Beaton Aboriginal land claims process

rbeaton@jd13.law.harvard.edu

Manavi Belgaumkar H.
Kinwa Bluesky

nishkinwa@gmail.com

Brian Calliou

brianlouiscalliou@gmail.com

Akshaya Chandani

akshaya.chandani90@gmail.com

 

Nima Dorji Bhutanese election law, constitutional (fundamental) rights and duties, Buddhism and law, intellectual property law

nima.dorji@jswlaw.bt

Rachel Flowers

rflowers@uvic.ca

David Gill Alternatives to criminal law in both Canadian and Indigenous legal orders​

davidtaylor.gill@gmail.com

Jason Gratl

jason@gratlandcompany.com

Robert Hamilton

robert.hamilton1@ucalgary.ca

Tamunobelema Itamunoala Climate change

legalbelema@gmail.com

Michael Johnson

michael.johnson.ubc@gmail.com

Hassan Kamalinejad

kamali@uvic.ca

Arvind Kumar Access to justice in Adivasi lands of India, non-international armed conflicts with a special focus on the Naxal movement.

arvind.ransom@uvic.ca

Eva Linde Environmental law, climate change, human rights, international law, European Union law, 

evalinde@uvic.ca

Michael Litchfield Cannabis regulation, regulation of drugs and alcohol, corporate/commercial law, real property law, governance, ethics

thinklab@uvic.ca

Katherine Llorca Green legal theory

kllorca@uvic.ca

Lana Lowe Indigenous governance

lclowe@uvic.ca

Ratana Ly Transnational regulations, legal pluralism, human rights & the environment, transitional justice

ratanaly@uvic.ca

Trung Nguyen State responsibilities

nguyenquoctantrung@gmail.com

Soudeh Nouri

soudeh_nouri@yahoo.com

Ademiju Olatunji International criminal law, human rights and corruption

demiju02@yahoo.com

Songkrant Pongboonjun

Interaction between formal legal institutions, civil liberties and civil rights

kan.law.cmu@gmail.com

Himaloya Saha Intersection between labour laws and foreign direct investment, Issues of cross-border insolvency

himaloya_saha@hotmail.com

Panch Rishi Dev Sharma Comparative constitutional law, emergency constitution, comparative federalism, South Asian jurisprudence

panchrishidevsharam@uvic.ca

Jennifer Smith Environmental displacement of human populations, climate change refugees

jlasmith@uvic.ca

Devyani Tewari Gender and disability rights, law and literature, law and popular culture

devyanitewari21@gmail.com

Paige Thombs Religion and law, antisemitism, self-determination 

paigethombs@uvic.ca

Jessica Thompson

jlthompson.nu@gmail.com

Esteban Vallejo Toledo Tax law, Indigenous law and taxation, land value capture, spatial inclusion, fiscal decentralization,  official statistics, legal geography, legal pluralism, legal history and anthropology, dispute resolution

estebanvallejotoledo@uvic.ca

Mary Anne Vallianatos Critical race theory, decolonization, legal history, and comparative constitutional law

maryannev@uvic.ca

Pema Wangdi

pema.wangdi@jswlaw.bt

Mark Zion Ecology, Indigeneity, critical legal thought, and radical politics

markzion@gmail.com