Skip to main content

Jamie Cassels, 2013-2020

Jamie Cassels, served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Victoria from 2013 to 2020. As president he championed the importance of hands-on and research-enriched learning; inclusiveness, equality and mutual respect; stewardship of the environment; and a commitment to justice and reconciliation 

Before becoming President, he served as UVic’s Dean of the Faculty of Law from 1998-2001 and as Vice-President Academic and Provost from 2001-2010. As a professor of law Cassels is nationally and internationally recognized as a master teacher and scholar, and noted for his outstanding leadership and vision.

Cassels is the author of numerous books and articles and has received awards for his scholarship and teaching, including a 3M National Teaching Fellowship and the Canadian Association of Law Teachers Award of Excellence. He was a founding member of the BC Law Institute and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2004 for his scholarly and service contributions to the legal profession. He holds a BA in law and philosophy from Carleton University, an LL.B from the University of Western Ontario and an LL.M from Columbia University. 

David H. Turpin, 2000-2013

David H. Turpin served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Victoria from 2000 to 2013. Under his leadership, the University of Victoria adopted a strategic plan which set long-term goals and expressed the vision of being a university of choice for outstanding students, faculty and staff from British Columbia, Canada and around the world. An Era of Discovery and Achievement outlines the his accomplishments while president. 

Dr. Turpin obtained his PhD in botany and oceanography from the University of British Columbia in 1980. Before joining the University of Victoria, he served as Vice-Principal Academic and Dean of Arts and Science at Queen's University. After completing his service to UVic he went on to serve as the president of the University of Alberta.

Dr. Turpin is a member of the Order of Canada, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and was awarded both the Queen Elizabeth Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals for his service to the community.

David F. Strong, 1990-2000

Dr. David F. Strong served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Victoria from 1990 to 2000. David Strong received a BSc from Memorial University, an MSc from Lehigh University and a PhD from the University of Edinburgh. Prior to joining UVic, he held positions as professor of geology, University Research Professor, and Vice-President Academic at Memorial University of Newfoundland, during which time he was a leading researcher in metallogeny and orogenesis.

Howard E. Petch, 1975-1990

Dr. Howard E. Petch served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Victoria from 1975 to 1990. After service with the Royal Canadian Air Force, Howard Petch completed a Bachelor of Science at McMaster University and earned his PhD in Physics from the University of British Columbia. Prior to joining UVic, he taught in the Physics Department of McMaster University, served as the Chair of the Metallurgical Engineering Department and held the post of Director of Research. Dr. Petch served as the Principal at Hamilton College, and as the Vice-President (academic) and Professor of Physics at the University of Waterloo.

Hugh E. Farquhar, 1972-1974

Dr. Hugh Ernest Farquhar (1910-1984) served as UVic’s president from 1972 to 1974. Born in Truro, Nova Scotia, Farquhar’s family moved to Victoria where he was educated at Victoria Provincial Normal School (1930-1931) and Victoria College (1933-1934). Studying part-time, Hugh Farquhar received his BA and MA at the University of British Columbia and his PhD from the University of Alberta.

After teaching in elementary and secondary schools, Hugh Farquhar taught at Victoria Normal School and at Victoria College's Faculty of Education. In 1960, he was appointed to the Victoria College University Development Board and he also chaired the committee on the Academic Future of the University of Victoria. When the University officially opened its doors in 1963, Farquhar served as a professor in the new Faculty of Education. After an early retirement, he was asked to return as the Dean of Education in 1971.

Bruce J. Partridge, 1969-1972

Bruce J. Partridge served as president of the University of Victoria from 1969 to 1972. He hailed from Syracuse, New York and prior to joining UVic he served for four years as the Vice-President for Administration and Treasurer of John Hopkins University in Baltimore.

In 28 October 28 1969, Bruce Partridge's installation ceremony was noteworthy as he shared the occasion with HRH Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh, who was receiving UVic’s first honorary Doctor of Science degree.

Malcolm G. Taylor, 1964-1968

Malcolm G. Taylor (1915-1994). Dr. Taylor earned his BA, MA and doctorate in political science at University of California, Berkeley. From 1947 to 1960, Dr. Taylor taught political economy at the University of Toronto. In 1960, he was appointed the first principal of the Calgary campus, University of Alberta, where he led Calgary through the transition period when the institution sought independence from the University of Alberta.

While principal at Calgary, Dr. Taylor continued to contribute to his academic field, as seen in his consultancy work for the Hall Royal Commission on Health Services from 1961 to 1964. Taylor was also an active member of the NCCUC (later called the AUCC) where he played a role in the decision process that led to the admission of the University of Victoria.

Acting presidents

  • Stephen A. Jennings, 1974
  • Robert T. D. Wallace, 1968-1969
  • W. Harry Hickman, 1963-1964