Skip to main content


The Department of Political Science general office is in David Turpin Building (DTB) A316. We're open Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.


Cross-listed & adjunct professors

Cross-listed faculty

Dr. Jeff Corntassel, Cross-Listed Associate Professor 
Indigenous Studies Program
Global Indigenous rights; Indigenous political mobilization/self-determination movements

Dr. Laura Parisi, Cross-Listed Associate Professor
Gender Studies
Globalization and resistance; gender and international human rights; gender and international development

Adjunct professors

Dr. George Abbott, Adjunct Professor
BC and Canadian politics

Dr. Michael Asch, Adjunct Professor
Socio-cultural anthropology; North America; political and legal anthropology

Dr. Sarah Sharma, Adjunct Assistant Professor
International relations; political economy

Dr. Reg Whitaker, Adjunct Professor
Canadian politics; Canadian security issues

Sessional instructors summer 2024

Dr. Michael Carpenter - POLI 240

Dr. Simon Carroll - POLI 456

Dr. Joe Fletcher - POLI 323

Dr. Taylor Green - POLI 369

Husnain Iqbal - POLI 349

Neil Montgomery - POLI 300B

Dr. Smith Oduro-Marfo - POLI 373


Rosemary Barlow, Administrative Officer

Joanne Denton, Chair's Assistant

Rachel Richmond, Graduate Secretary