Skip to main content

Faculty & staff

Faculty, staff, students, emeritisessional instructors, post-docs and adjuncts: we all work closely as a supportive and collaborative team to accomplish our goals in learning and teaching, research, and community service.


Our office is located in the David Turpin Building, B-Wing, room B243. We are normally open from 9 a.m. 4 p.m. Monday - Friday.

General inquiries:
Phone: 250-721-7354

Undergraduate advising:
Ryan Hilperts, 250-472-5767,

Graduate advising:
Dr. Trevor Lantz, 250-853-3566,

Mailing address:
School of Environmental Studies
University of Victoria
PO Box 1700 STN CSC
Victoria BC V8W 2Y2

Courier address:
School of Environmental Studies
University of Victoria
David Turpin Building, B-Wing, B243
3800 Finnerty Road (Ring Road)
Victoria, BC V8P 5C2


Natalie Ban - Environmental Studies

Natalie Ban

Professor & President's Chair Environmental Studies

Office: DTB B250 250-853-3569

Deborah Curran - Environmental Studies

Deborah Curran

Professor & director School of Environmental Studies Environmental Studies and LAW

Office: DTB B243b 250-853-3105

Eric Higgs - Environmental Studies

Eric Higgs

Professor Environmental Studies

Office: DTB B162 250.721.8228

Generic profile pic

Ryan Hilperts

Assistant teaching professor Environmental Studies

Office: DTB B262 250-472-5767

Sarah Hunt - Environmental Studies

Sarah Hunt / Tłaliłila’ogwa

Associate professor & Canada Research Chair, Indigenous political ecology Environmental Studies

Office: DTB A133 250-472-5828

Trevor Lantz - Environmental Studies

Trevor Lantz

Professor Environmental Studies

Office: DTB B254 250-853-3566

Darcy Matthews - Environmental Studies

Darcy Mathews

Associate professor Environmental Studies

Office: DTB A141 250-472-4941

Ian Mauro - Environmental Studies

Ian Mauro

Professor & executive director Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions (PICS) Environmental Studies

Office: UH1 250-853-3596

Loren McClenachan - Environmental Studies

Loren McClenachan

Associate professor & Canada Research Chair, ocean history and sustainability Environmental Studies & History

Office: CLE B216 / DTB B150 250-721-7389

James Rowe - Environmental Studies

James K. Rowe

Associate professor Environmental Studies

Office: DTB A143 250-853-3574

Nancy Shackelford - Environmental Studies

Nancy Shackelford

Assistant professor & director Restoration of Natural Systems Environmental Studies

Office: DTB A129 250-472-4387

Karena Shaw - Environmental Studies

Karena (Kara) Shaw

Professor & academic director Transformative Climate Action Certificate Environmental Studies

Office: DTB A131 250-721-7353

Gerald Singh - Environmental Studies

Gerald Singh

Assistant professor & Ocean Nexus Chair of Global Change and Sustainable Development Environmental Studies

Office: DTB B224 250-853-3558

Brian Starzomski - Environmental Studies

Brian Starzomski

Ian McTaggart Cowan Professor Environmental Studies

Office: B225 250-853-3564

John Volpe - Environmental Studies

John Volpe

Professor Environmental Studies

Office: DTB B156 250-472-4298

Cross-listed & limited-term faculty

Benjamin Neal - Environmental Studies

Ben Neal

Assistant teaching professor Environmental Studies and Biology

Office: PCH 009 250-721-7142


Sarah Theophilus

Sarah Theophilus

Administrative officer Environmental Studies

Oversees the financial and administrative operations of the school. Contact Sarah for assistance with administration, financial accounting, endowment accounting, course scheduling, website updates, HR & payroll, faculty appointments, post-doctoral fellowships, sessional instructor positions and TA appointments. 

Office: DTB B243a 250-472-4568

Generic profile pic

Elizabeth E

Receptionist, undergraduate program assistant Environmental Studies

This position provides front-line receptionist duties and undergraduate program administrative support. Contact Elizabeth for information about our School and for assistance with course registration, field school fees, keys sign-out, room bookings, events and faculty and sessional instructor support.

Office: DTB B243 250-721-7354

Margy Gamble

Margy Gamble

Graduate program and administrative assistant Environmental Studies

Provides administrative support for master’s and PhD students. Contact Margy for administrative support related to graduate programs, including admissions, awards and funding, thesis/dissertation defense and graduation.

Office: DTB B243 250-472-5516

Generic profile pic

Ryan L. Hilperts

Undergraduate adviser, field school coordinator Environmental Studies

Ryan supports undergraduate students through academic advising including degree planning and course selection. She also supports the larger undergraduate community through field school coordination, undergraduate social events and community engaged learning.

Office: DTB B262 250 472 5767

Alina Fisher

Alina Fisher

Research manager Environmental Studies

Contact Alina for grant application development, post-award grant management including budgeting, expenditures, purchasing and human resources, reporting to funders and as a first point for publicizing your research findings.

Office: DTB B239 250-472-5923

Laurel Currie

Laurel Currie

Program manager, climate & sustainability scholars Environmental Studies

Responsible for developing, implementing, managing and evaluating UVic’s Climate & Sustainability Scholars Program (CSSP).

Office: DTB B216 250-721-6125

Lina Guo

Lina Guo

Social Sciences co-op coordinator Social Sciences



Sessional instructors


Pamela Asquith, adjunct professor
E. Richard Atleo, adjunct associate professor
Brenda Beckwith, adjunct assistant professor
Louise Blight, adjunct associate professor
Sebastian Bonet, adjunct assistant professor
Jeremy Caradonna, adjunct assistant professor
Alain Cuerrier, adjunct associate professor
Rod Davis, adjunct assistant professor
Douglas Deur, adjunct associate professor
Karen Dunmall, adjunct professor
Donald Eastman, adjunct associate professor
Emily Eaton, adjunct professor
Jason Fisher, adjunct assistant professor
Beatrice Frank, adjunct professor
Alejandro Frid, adjunct assistant professor
Emily Gonzales, adjunct assistant professor
Purnima Govindarajulu, adjunct assistant professor
Richard Hebda, adjunct associate professor
Thomas Heyd, adjunct professor
Morgan Hocking, adjunct assistant professor
Elin Kelsey, adjunct associate professor
Leslie King, adjunct professor
Steven Kokelj, adjunct associate professor
Lynn Lee, adjunct assistant professor
Nick Montgomery, adjunct assistant professor
Charlotte Norris, adjunct assistant professor
Tom Okey, adjunct associate professor
Briony Penn, adjunct professor
Ana Maria Peredo, adjunct professor
John Restakis, adjunct assistant professor
Peter Ross, adjunct professor
Judith Sayers, adjunct professor
Valentin Schaefer, adjunct associate professor
Christina Service, adjunct assistant professor
Trudi Smith, adjunct assistant professor
Pamela Spalding, adjunct assistant professor
Nicholas Stanger, adjunct associate professor
Frances Stewart, adjunct assistant professor
Duncan Taylor, adjunct associate professor
Angeline Tillmanns, adjunct assistant professor
Nancy Turner, adjunct professor
Charlotte Whitney, adjunct assistant professor

Postdoctoral fellows

Grad students

Vist our grad student page to learn about our incredible PhD and master's students!