Skip to main content

Designated English speaking countries

If your first language isn’t English, you must provide proof of English proficiency. You're exempt from this if you:

  • Have lived in a designated English speaking country for at least three years prior to applying to UVic
  • Have a degree from a designated English speaking country

English speaking countries:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland (Republic of)
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Pacific Islands (American Samoa, Baker Island, Chatham Islands, Cook Islands, Line Islands, Marianas Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Pitcairn Islands, Solomon Islands)
  • Panama Canal Zone
  • Puerto Rico (case by case)
  • Ryukyu Islands
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Africa (case by case)
  • Helena
  • Kitts & Nevis
  • Lucia
  • Vincent
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom (England, Scotland and Wales)
  • United States of America
  • Virgin Islands
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Need help?

If you have a general question about the application process or studying at UVic, get in touch with your UVic graduate student recruiter.

If you have a specific question about your program or application to UVic, contact your program’s graduate secretary.

This website stores cookies on your computer. These cookies are used to collect information about how you interact with our website and allow us to remember you. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience and for analytics and metrics about our visitors both on this website and other media. To find out more about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy.