English language proficiency

You must provide proof that you are proficient in the English language to attend UVic.

You are exempt from this requirement if:

  • English is your primary language
  • you’ve spent the last three years before coming to UVic in an English-speaking country
  • you have a degree from a designated English-speaking country
  • you have a degree from a recognized institution at which the language of instruction is English (please clearly indicate this in your application, if applicable)

We accept three language tests as proof of language proficiency: TOEFL, IELTS, or MELAB.

Official test score reports must be sent directly to UVic by the testing agency.

We cannot accept test scores more than two years old.

PLEASE NOTE: The EPLS department requires higher language proficiency scores than those required by Graduate Admissions and Records.

Minimum test scores

TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language)

We require a minimum score of 95 from the internet-based TOEFL (IBT). You must also score at least 21 points each in the listening, speaking, reading and writing sections.

We require a minimum score of 575 on the paper-based TOEFL.

UVic's TOEFL institution code is 0989.

IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

We require minimum overall band score of 7.0 on the IELTS. No individual component can have a score lower than 6.5. We will only accept results from the Academic IELTS.

MELAB (Michigan English Language Assessment Battery)

A score of 92 on the MELAB will be accepted as proof of English proficiency.