Academic advising

Academic advice can help you with big choices, including choosing your program and courses. Academic advising is available from departmental advisors and from the Academic Advising Centre.

You can declare your major after competing 12 units.  Declaring your major will help you plan your program and career and gives you more opportunities to connect with UVic Science community.

Department Advisors

For advice on issues related to a specific program, department, or school, start with the undergraduate department advisor:

Department Role Advisor
Biochemistry and Microbiology

All levels

Dr. Chris Upton: cupton@uvic.ca

Dr. Kimberley Politano: 

 

 

Honours

Dr. John Burke: jeburke@uvic.ca 

 

Biology

1st & 2nd year advising; waivers & transfer credits for 100- & 200- level courses

Dr. Francis Choy: fchoy@uvic.ca 

Dr. Barbara Ehlting: behlting@uvic.ca 

 

3rd & 4th year advising; waivers & transfer credits for 300- & 400- level courses

Dr. Greg Beaulieu: gregoryb@uvic.ca 

 

Chemistry

All levels, Honours & Major

Dr. Dave Berg: djberg@uvic.ca 

 

 

All levels, Chemistry for the Medical Sciences

Dr. Peter Wan: pwan@uvic.ca 

 

Earth and Ocean Sciences

All levels

Dr. Dante Caril seosadvisor@uvic.ca 

 

 

 

Honours Advisor

Dr. Lucinda Leonard: eoshon@uvic.ca 

 

 

Mathematics and Statistics

Math: 1st & 2nd year

Dr. Chris Eagle: eaglec@uvic.ca

Dr. Gary MacGillivray: gmacgill@uvic.ca

 

 

3rd & 4th year, Honours

Dr. Heath Emerson: hemerson@uvic.ca 

 

 

 

Transfer Credits

Dr. Jing Huang:huangj@uvic.ca 

Dr. Jane Ye: janeye@uvic.ca 

 

 


Statistics: All levels, Honours

Dr. Julie Zhou: statadv@uvic.ca 

 

 

Statistics Transfer Credit

Dr. Min Tsao: mtsao@uvic.ca

 

Physics and Astronomy

1st & 2nd year

Dr. Mark Laidlaw: phast_advising@uvic.ca 

 

 

 

3rd & 4th year

Dr. Richard Keeler: phast_advising@uvic.ca 

 

 

Academic Advising Centre

Connect with the Academic Advising Centre throughout your degree. They can help:

  • Explore your degree and program options
  • Discuss the flexibility available in a degree (adding a second Major or a Minor, Concentration or Option)
  • Select your courses
  • Help when life interferes with academic success
  • Plan for your degree completion and help you interpret your CAPP report
  • Explain University policies, regulations, and degree and program requirements
  • With academic concerns and provide appropriate referrals
  • Transfer students with discussing academic plans, and reviewing transfer credits 

The Academic Calendar contains information on programs, courses and academic regulations. Contact an Adviser if you need referrals or support in taking next steps or have questions about how to interpret a policy in the Academic Calendar. Unexpected life circumstances may interfere with academic success. You do not have to face difficulties on your own. Consult the Academic Advising Centre for information on drop-in times and appointments, or email advising@uvic.ca

Review of an Assigned Grade

If you believe that there has been a mistake or unfairness in the assignment of your grade, please see the Faculty of Science Procedures for Review of an Assigned Grade: Undergraduate and Graduate for advice on what to do next.
Six tips for UVic Science students