Faculty directory

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey
Serving as Associate Vice-President Academic Programs
Remedies, insurance, torts, feminist analysis of law, law and society, and race, ethnicity, and the law. 
Patricia Barkaskas
Strategic Advisor to the Dean for the National Centre for Indigenous Laws.

Justice and law, access to justice, clinical legal education, decolonizing and Indigenizing law.

John Borrows
(On leave until June 30, 2024)

250-721-8168
Indigenous law, environmental law, constitutional law.

Brad Bryan

250-721-8164
bwb@uvic.ca

Taxation law, First Nations taxation.

Gillian Calder

250-472-5127
gcalder@uvic.ca

Family law and social issues, constitutional law, gender equality.

Kathryn Chan 
(On leave until June 30, 2024)

250-721-8163
kmchan@uvic.ca

Nonprofit sector law, law and religion, administrative law and regulation, trusts, the law of gift.

Patricia Cochran

250-721-8183

Constitutional law, legal and political theory, law and the humanities.

Deborah L Curran,
Executive Director, Environmental Law Centre

250-853-3105
dlc@uvic.ca
Water law, municipal law, growth management and land use law, environmental law, agricultural land and food systems, real estate and shared-decision making.

Maneesha Deckha
Lansdowne Chair in Law
(On leave until June 30, 2024)

250-721-8175
mdeckha@uvic.ca
Animal legal studies, feminist animal care theory and feminist analysis of law, critical animal studies, postcolonial theory, reproductive and end-of-life law and ethics, administrative law.

Mark R Gillen 

250-721-8169
mgillen@uvic.ca
Securities, trusts, business associations, tax and competition law.

Alan Hanna

250-472-5247
ahanna@uvic.ca

Aboriginal law, Indigenous lands, rights and governance.
Chris Heslinga
Director of the Law Centre Clinical Legal Education Program

250-385-1221 
director@thelawcentre.ca

Clinical and public legal education.
Robert Howell 250-721-8186
rhowell@uvic.ca
Intellectual property, technology, telecommunications, private international law.

Ireh Iyioha 

250-721-6299
iiyioha@uvic.ca

Jurisprudence, international human rights law, feminist legal theory, torts, healthcare law, and women's health and the law.

Rebecca Johnson
Director, Graduate Program

250-721-8187
rjohnson@uvic.ca
Criminal law, legal process, business associations.

Asad Kiyani

250-472-5042
akiyani@uvic.ca

Race and criminal law, Police powers, International Criminal Law, Third World Approaches to International Law, Legal Pluralism, Postcolonial Theory, Critical Race Theory, Citizenship.

Freya Kodar
Dean of Law

250-721-8190
fkodar@uvic.ca
Pension (public and private), consumer law and policy, debt and credit regulation, income security, care work, disability and the law.

Robert Lapper, KC
Dorothy & David Lam Chair in Law and Public Policy

250-721-7647 
rlapper@uvic.ca
Access to justice, justice innovation, public policy, professional regulation and ethics, Aboriginal law. 

Michelle Lawrence  
Director, Access to Justice Centre of Excellence
(On leave until June 30, 2024)

250-721-8173
mlawr@uvic.ca

Access to justice, justice innovation, criminal law, evidence, sentencing, substance abuse and mental disorder, relationship violence, police accountability.
Darcy Lindberg

250-721-8182
darcylin@uvic.ca

Indigenous law, ecological governance through Indigenous legal orders, gender and Indigenous ceremonies, Indigenous treaty making.
Tracey Lindberg

250-721-8894
tlindberg@uvic.ca

Traditional Indigenous governments, Cree laws, translation between Canadian and Indigenous laws, Indigenous women, legal advocacy and activism.

Geoffrey Loomer
Associate Dean, Administration and Research

250-721-8161
law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca

International and comparative taxation law and corporate taxation. 

Andrew Luesley
Assistant Professor

 

Colin Macleod

250-721-7521
cmacleod@uvic.ca
Philosophy, liberal equality.

David Milward
Director, JD/JID program

250-721-8154
jiddirector@uvic.ca

Criminal law, Indigenous justice, and evidence.

Sarah Morales

250-721-8184
smorales@uvic.ca 

Aboriginal law, Indigenous legal traditions and international human rights.

Val Napoleon
Law Foundation Chair of Indigenous Justice and Governance
(On leave until June 30, 2024)

250-721-8147
napoleon@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal traditions, Indigenous feminist legal studies, governance, restorative justice, Indigenous property law, Aboriginal legal issues.

Andrew Newcombe 
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250-721-8152
lawassoc@uvic.ca
International investment law and arbitration, international trade law and contracts.

Pooja Parmar
President’s Chair in Law and Indigeneity in a Global Context

250-721-8179

legal pluralism, legal ethics, int’l human rights law, legal history, law and colonialism.

Janna Promislow
(On leave until June 30, 2024)

250-472-5027
jannap@uvic.ca

Aboriginal Law, administrative law, constitutional law, Indigenous Law, Crown-Indigenous treaties, the duty to consult and accommodate, Crown-Indigenous treaty rights and interpretation, colonial legal history, legal pluralism.

Victor V. Ramraj
Director, Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives (CAPI)
250-721-7024
Comparative constitutional and administrative law (SE Asia), transnational regulation, law and globalization, emergency powers in Asia.

Sara Ramshaw 
Director, Cultural, Social and Political Thought (CSPT)

250-721-8165 sararamshaw@uvic.ca

Family law, human rights, contracts, arts-based approaches to law, law and the humanities, improvisation and the law, legal theory/jurisprudence.
Tim Richards
Director, First-Year Legal Research and Writing Program
250-721-8185
trichard@uvic.ca
Human rights law, poverty and social policy, legal skills education.

Chris Tollefson

250-721-8170
ctollef@uvic.ca
Environmental law and litigation, sustainability, environmental governance, forestry, Aboriginal law, access to justice.

Name

Phone

Email

Freya Kodar
Dean of Law
250 721-8147
Geoffrey Loomer
Associate Dean, Administration and Research
250 721-8161 law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca

Andrew Newcombe
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250 721-8152 lawassoc@uvic.ca
Rebecca Johnson
Director, Graduate Program
250 721-8175 gradlawdir@uvic.ca

Name

Title

Email

Roberto Alberto Sessional Instructor
Ross Alexander Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor rossalexander@uvic.ca
Michael Asch  Adjunct Professor
Trevor Bant Sessional Instructor
Eszter Bodnár Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor ebodnar@uvic.ca
Oliver Brandes Adjunct Professor

omb@uvic.ca

Susan Breau Adjunct Professor

 

Andrew Buck Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor  andrewbuck@uvic.ca
Ashley Caron Adjunct Professor 

 

Kaitlyn Chewka Adjunct Professor
Robert Clifford Adjunct Professor and Field School Instructor

robcliff@uvic.ca

Michael Cooper Adjunct Professor 

 

Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger

 

Kaitlyn Cumming Sessional Instructor

 

Bradley Danks Adjunct Professor 

 

Fernando De Lima Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

 

Michael Doherty Sessional Instructor

 

Paula Donnachie Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

pdonnachie@uvic.ca

Patrick Dudding Adjunct Professor 

pdudding@uvic.ca

Joel Feinman Limited Term Teaching Professor

 

Stephen Ferance Adjunct Professor 

 

Sean Finn Adjunct Professor
Hadley Friedland Adjunct Professor 
John Gailus Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

jgailus@uvic.ca

Robyn Gifford Adjunct Professor 

 

Colin Gusikosky Sessional Instructor
Alandra Harlingten Adjunct Professor 
Anthony Ho Sessional Instructor
Hank Intven Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

hintven@uvic.ca

Clare Jennings Adjunct Professor

 

Molly Joeck Sessional Instructor

 

Laura Johnston Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

laurajohnston@uvic.ca

Stephen King

Sessional Instructor

 

Michelle Kinney

Sessional Instructor

 

Valerie Le Blanc

Adjunct Professor 

vleblanc@uvic.ca

James (Jim) Legh Adjunct Professor 

legh@sll.ca

Margot Liechti

Sessional Instructor

 

Michael Litchfield

Director, Business Law Clinic

thinklab@uvic.ca

Stephen Lyons

Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

slyons@uvic.ca

Raji Mangat Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

rmangat@uvic.ca

Claude Marchessault Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

 

Chris Massey Sessional Instructor
Lee Mauro Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor

 

Jerry McHale Adjunct Professor

mjmchale@uvic.ca

Arthur McInnis Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 
Marcia McNeil Sessional Instructor

 

Kent McNeil Limited Term Visiting Professor

 

Laura Miller Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

 

Melanie Mortensen Sessional Instructor

melaniejmortensen@uvic.ca

Christine Murray Sessional Instructor
Chibueze Ngozi Sessional Instructor

 

Ngozi Nwoko Sessional Instructor

 

Joel Oliphant Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

 

Jess Patterson Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

Lorne Phipps Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 
Christopher Ramsay Sessional Instructor

 

Deanna Rivers Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

dgrivers@uvic.ca

Supriya Routh Adjunct Professor 

 

Matt Stuckenberg Sessional Instructor
Theodore Sum Adjunct Professor 
Michael Taylor Sessional Instructor
Jessica Thomson Sessional Instructor

 

Alan Treleaven Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor

atreleaven@uvic.ca

John Tuck Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor 

johnmtuck@uvic.ca

Neil Vallance Adjunct Professor

 

Ian Wiebe Sessional Instructor and Adjunct Professor

ianwiebe@uvic.ca

Kim Willey Adjunct Professor 

 

David Wu Sessional Instructor

 

Jeffrey Young Adjunct Professor 

 

Mark Zion Dean's Graduate Fellow and Sessional Instructor

mzion@uvic.ca

Tom Zworski Adjunct Professor