Faculty directory

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey 250-721-8182
Remedies, insurance, torts, feminist analysis of law, law and society, and race, ethnicity, and the law. 

John Borrows
Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law

250-721-8168
Indigenous law, environmental law, constitutional law.

Susan Breau
Dean of Law

250-721-8147
lawdean@uvic.ca

Law of armed conflict, international humanitarian law, international human rights law and international disaster law.

Brad Bryan

250-721-8164
bwb@uvic.ca

Taxation law, First Nations taxation.

Gillian Calder
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250-721-8152
lawassoc@uvic.ca
Family law and social issues, constitutional law, gender equality.

Jamie L Cassels, QC
Serving as University President

Remedies, legal theory, contracts, torts.

Kathryn Chan

250-721-8163
kmchan@uvic.ca

Nonprofit sector law, law and religion, administrative law and regulation, trusts, the law of gift.

Patricia Cochran

250-721-8183

Constitutional law, political and legal theory, law of evidence, human rights, social welfare law.

Deborah L Curran,
Executive Director, Environmental Law Centre

250-853-3105
dlc@uvic.ca
Water law, municipal law, growth management and land use law, environmental law, agricultural land and food systems, real estate and shared-decision making.

Maneesha Deckha
Lansdowne Chair in Law
Director, Graduate Program

250-721-8175
mdeckha@uvic.ca
Animal law, health, bioethics, feminist analysis, critical animal studies, administrative law, postcolonial theory.

Gerry Ferguson

250-721-8174
gferguso@uvic.ca
Corruption, criminal law, criminal procedure, sentencing, mental health law.

Mark R Gillen 

250-721-8169
mgillen@uvic.ca
Securities, trusts, business associations, tax and competition law.

Donna Greschner

250-721-8866
dgresch@uvic.ca
Constitutional law, comparative constitutional law, human rights (focus on equality rights), political and legal theory.

Alan Hanna

250-472-5247
ahanna@uvic.ca

Aboriginal law, Indigenous lands, rights and governance
Robert Howell 250-721-8186
rhowell@uvic.ca
Intellectual property, technology, telecommunications, private international law.
Ireh Iyioha

250-721-6299
iiyioha@uvic.ca

Jurisprudence, international human rights law, feminist legal theory, torts, healthcare law, and women's health and the law

Rebecca Johnson
On leave July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

250-721-8187
rjohnson@uvic.ca
Criminal law, legal process, business associations.

Freya Kodar
Associate Dean, Administration and Research

250-721-8190
law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca
Pension (public and private), consumer law and policy, debt and credit regulation, income security, care work, disability and the law.

Robert Lapper, QC

250-721-7647 
rlapper@uvic.ca
Public policy, professional regulation and ethics, Aboriginal law. 

Michelle Lawrence  

250-721-8894
mlawr@uvic.ca
Criminal law, evidence, sentencing, substance abuse and mental disorder, relationship violence, police accountability.
Geoffrey Loomer

250-721-8173
geoffreyloomer@uvic.ca

International and comparative taxation law and corporate taxation. 

Colin Macleod  

250-721-7521
cmacleod@uvic.ca
Philosophy, liberal equality.
David Milward

250-721-8154
davidmilward@uvic.ca

Criminal law, Indigenous justice, and evidence.
Ted L. McDorman 250-721-8181
tlmcdorm@uvic.ca
Public international law, international ocean law.

Sarah Morales 
Acting Director, JD/JID program

250-721-8184
smorales@uvic.ca 
jiddirector@uvic.ca

Aboriginal law, Indigenous legal traditions and international human rights

Val Napoleon
Law Foundation Professor of Aboriginal Justice and Governance

On leave July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

250-721-8172
jiddirector@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal traditions, Indigenous feminist legal studies, governance, restorative justice, Indigenous property law, Aboriginal legal issues.

Andrew Newcombe 
On leave July 1, 2019 – December 31, 2019

250-721-8161
newcombe@uvic.ca
International investment law and arbitration, international trade law and contracts.

Pooja Parmar 

250-721-8179

legal pluralism, legal ethics, int’l human rights law, legal history, law and colonialism.

Stephen Perks
Acting Director of the Law Centre Clinical Legal Education Program

250-385-8604
steve.perks@thelawcentre.ca

Clinical and public legal education.

Victor V. Ramraj
Director, Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives (CAPI)
250-721-7024
Comparative constitutional and administrative law (SE Asia), transnational regulation, law and globalization, emergency powers in Asia.

Sara Ramshaw

250-721-8165 sararamshaw@uvic.ca

Family law, human rights, contracts.
Tim Richards
Director, First-Year Legal Research and Writing Program
250-721-8185
trichard@uvic.ca
Human rights law, poverty and social policy, legal skills education.

Supriya Routh 

250-853-3167
srouth@uvic.ca
Work and labour law, international labour law, atypical and informal workers in the global south, human rights.

Calvin Sandborn, QC
Legal Director of the Environmental Law Centre

250-472-5248
csandbor@uvic.ca
Environmental law, mining law and reform, plastics legislation

Chris Tollefson

250-721-8170
ctollef@uvic.ca
Environmental law and litigation, sustainability, environmental governance, forestry, Aboriginal law, access to justice.

Jeremy Webber

250-721-8171
jwebber@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal rights, cultural diversity, constitutional theory.

Name

Phone

Email

Susan Breau
Dean of Law
250 721-8147
Gillian Calder
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations
250 721-8152 lawassoc@uvic.ca
Freya Kodar
Associate Dean, Administration and Research
250 721-8190 law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca
Maneesha Deckha
Director, Graduate Program
250 721-8175 mdeckha@uvic.ca

Name

Course

Email

Tess Acton 323: Refugee Law

actont@uvic.ca

Catherine Boies Parker
Oliver Brandes
Andrew Buck 343: Building Democracy: A Legal History of the Right to Vote andrewbuck@uvic.ca
Joan Chambers
Bradley Danks
Mary Falconer
Stephen Ferance stephen.ferance@gowlingwlg.com
Jonas Gifford
Paul Godin 343: Sports Dispute Resolution in Canada
Hugh Gwillim Hugh.Gwillim@gov.bc.ca
Andrew Harding
Hank Intven 367: Communication Law & Policy
Veronica Jackson
James Legh 307B: Civil Procedure with Drafting

legh@sll.ca

Michael Litchfield
Director, Business Law Clinic

349: Business Law Clinic

mlitchfield@thinklabconsulting.com

Raji Mangat 359: Civil Liberties & the Charter
Jerry McHale

mjmchale@uvic.ca

Steven McKoen
Lori McMorran 356: Advocacy
Catherine Morris
Michael Munro 356: Advocacy mjmbarrister@gmail.com
Justice Jeff Oliphant joliphant@judicom.ca
Joel Oliphant
Jess Patterson

356:Advocacy

Jess.Patterson@gov.bc.ca

Deanna Rivers

320: Wills, Estates and Succession Planning

307B: Civil Procedure with Drafting

rivers@sll.ca

Kurt Sandstrom 372: Public Policy, Law & Dispute Resolution kurt.sandstrom@gov.bc.ca
Kate Saunders
Daniel So
Theodore Sum
Ian Wiebe 355: Legal Skills
Jeffrey Young
Tom Zworski