Skip to main content

Our researchers are exploring subjects ranging from multiculturalism to re-thinking the possibility of politics in a post-modern era. This knowledge and expertise are passed directly on to our students and foster strong links with the university and the wider community.

Dr. Kelly Aguirre: Indigenous politics, political theory, Indigenous rhetorics, poetics and storytelling practices

Dr. Michelle Bonner: Latin American politics, human rights, social movements, police and democratization, gender and democratization, comparative politics, global south (Latin America)

Dr. Marlea Clarke: African Politics (Southern Africa focus), comparative politics (global south focus), political economy of development, precarious employment and labour market restructuring, commodity chains (garment industry), work and migration, globalisation, gender and politics

Dr. A. Claire Cutler: international relations theory, international law and organization, private international trade law, international political economy

Dr. Rita Dhamoon: identity/difference politics and power including multicultural policies and theories, culture, nation-building, gender politics and feminism, intersectionality, critical race, post-colonial and anti-colonial politics, citizenship and democratic politics, focus on Canadian politics

Dr. Avigail Eisenberg: democratic theory including pluralism, feminism and minority rights, Canadian politics including constitutional law and politics, minority groups, human rights and civil liberties

Dr. Simon Glezos: speed and technology, contemporary political theory, international relations theory, theories of the state, theories of political violence, globalization, contemporary information technologies, capitalism and resistance

Dr. Wilfrid (Will) Greaves: securitization and security theory, human and environmental security, climate change, natural resource extraction, Arctic politics, Canadian foreign policy

Dr. Matt James: Canadian constitutionalism and citizenship, Canadian politics, social movements, prestige, political theory, reparations

Dr. James Lawson: Canadian politics and political economy, environmental and natural-resource politics, the historical geography of resource policy conflict

Dr. Justin Leifso: Canadian politics, Canadian public policy, neoliberalism, governance in Canada

Dr. Mara Marin: feminist theory, social theory, history of political thought, structural injustice, oppression, domination, legal theory, authority, political obligation

Dr. Oliver Schmidtke: citizenship and immigration, identity politics, comparative politics, xenophobia and racism, European integration

Dr. Sarah E. Sharma: international political economy, global environmental governance, international relations, global governance; global finance, global north-global south relations, global displacements

Dr. Amy Verdun: European integration studies, monetary integration, European integration theory, European comparative politics, international political economy, international relations

Dr. Scott Watson: securitisation and the social construction of security/insecurity, international relations theory, international security, migration and refugee policy

Dr. Andrew Wender: politics, society, and religion in the Middle East and worldwide, political theory; religion, and philosophy including comparative political theory and comparative religion

Dr. Feng Xu: Chinese politics, comparative politics (East Asia), gender politics (especially East Asia), migration and citizenship, national and diaspora identities, policy ideas, translation theory and global hegemony, global south (East Asia)

Dr. George Abbott: BC and Canadian politics

Dr. Janni Aragon: gender and politics, American politics, feminist theories and methodologies, social movements, youth and politics, women and technology and transnational feminisms

Dr. Michael Asch: socio-cultural anthropology, North America, political and legal anthropology

Dr. Colin Bennett: comparative politics, public policy, politics of information

Dr. Jeff Corntassel:Indigenous rights, Indigenous political mobilization/self-determination movements

Dr. Arthur Kroker: contemporary French and German political theory, Canadian political and social thought, technology, culture and theory, ethics and biotechnology

Dr. Colin MacLeod: philosophy, contemporary political philosophy, ethics, philosophy of law

Dr. Laura Parisi: gender studies, globalization and resistance, gender and international human rights, gender and international development

Dr. Michael Prince: studies in policies and practices, trends in social policy, federal-provincial relations, aboriginal governance, policy making in disability politics, policy issues

Dr. Heidi Kiiwetinepinesiik Stark: Indigenous Governance program, Indigenous comparative politics, Indigenous diplomacy and treaty relations, Indigenous legal traditions and governance, US/Canadian Indigenous law and policy

Dr. Reeta Tremblay: comparative federalism, public policy, identity politics, global south (South Asia)

Dr. Jim Tully: political and legal theory/philosophy and their history, public philosophy, freedom, constitutionalism, nonviolence, civic engagement, Indigenous-Settler relations

Dr. R.B.J. (Rob) Walker: contemporary social and political thought, theories of discourse, ideology and culture, philosophy of social science, international political theory, concepts of space and time in political thought, modernity/postmodernity

Dr. Michael C. Webb: international political economy, globalization and governance, Canadian foreign policy