Faculty of Science Awards 2014-15

UVic Science has many talented faculty and staff whose outstanding contributions make us stand out on national and international stages. The best of the best are recognized with our Faculty of Science teaching, research, and staff excellence awards.

The Faculty of Science Awards Ceremony takes place on Friday, November 27 at 3:15 in the Bob Wright Centre, Room A104. 

The 2014-15 winners are:

Staff Excellence

Sean Adams, Department of Chemistry

Sean is a Scientific Glassblower with the Department of Chemistry. He designs, makes, and repairs sophisticated custom glass equipment for scientists in a wide range of Science disciplines. He also occasionally provides services for students and instructors in Fine Arts and for technicians in Facilities Management. Since he started in 1994, Sean has been an outstanding member of the UVic Science team. His excellent skills as a glassblower alone make him indispensable, but it is his technical intuition, creativity, and “over and above” attitude that distinguishes his contributions to our enterprise. Read more 

Teaching Excellence

Eileen van der Flier-Keller, School of Earth & Ocean Sciences

Dr. Eileen Van der Flier-Keller is an outstanding teacher and mentor who has made exceptional contributions to science education and outreach at UVic, within the BC school system, and to the general public. Eileen has dedicated much of her professional career to actively improving the state of public literacy in science at the University and beyond. Read more 

Research Excellence

Boualem Khouider, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Boualem Khouider joined the Department of Mathematics and Statistics in 2003. In the relatively short period since he has established himself as a leading researcher, recognized now as a world leader in modern applied mathematics interacting with climate change science. Read more