Institutional Programs

Institutional programs are research projects that are supported institutionally by the University of Victoria according to the Strategic Research Plan.

Programs administered by Institutional Programs in the Office of Research Services (ORS) include the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), the British Columbia Knowledge Development Fund (BCKDF), Canada Research Chairs (CRC), Canada 150 Research Chairs and Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD). Details for each program listed below.

University-level approval is required before applying to any of these funding programs. Interested researchers should contact the director institutional programs.

ORS liaises with the funding partners, assists the selected researchers in the preparation of their applications, and manages the awarded projects.

Contact us

Manager, Institutional Programs: Jill Taylor,, 250-853-3847
Senior Projects Officer: Michael Chin,, 250-472-4377
CRC Officer: Jessica Worsley,
Research Infrastructure Project Officer: Manjinder Cheema,
Senior Project Officer: Sara Ohora,

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) is an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure.

The CFI's mandate is to strengthen the capacity of Canadian universities, colleges, research hospitals and non-profit research institutions to carry out world-class research and technology development that benefits Canadians.

CFI has several programs available to universities. The Office of Research Services will assist you in every step of all the programs.

Accessing CFI funds

All researchers need university and/or department and faculty approval to access CFI funds. Contact the Manager, Institutional Programs for any information on the programs available and how to access them.

Canada Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders Fund (CFI-JELF)

The CFI-JELF program helps fund the strategic and critical infrastructure needs of UVic researchers. 

Questions about the 2022 internal competition can be sent to strategic project officer - Sorcha Collins

The BC Knowledge Development Fund (BCKDF) program is administered by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and funds Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) approved projects on a matching basis.

BCKDF projects will need to demonstrate their alignment with provincial research priorities and goals, which include:

  • Commercialization;
  • Talent development; and
  • Job creation

Key focuses for the Province are the following sectors for research and technology development:

  • Agrifoods;
  • Clean Technology;
  • Digital and Screen-based Media;
  • Health and Life Sciences;
  • Information and Communication Technologies and Wireless;
  • Infrastructure and TRansportation;
  • Natural Resources; and
  • Tourism

A separate full application form must be completed and sent to the ministry. Please contact the Manager, Institutional Programs before starting any BCKDF application to discuss the process and guidelines.

The Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program helps universities attract and retain the best talent from around the world. The program assists universities like the University of Victoria in achieving research excellence in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

UVic's Canada Research Chairs

UVic's CRC Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative

Please contact CRC Officer: Rebecca Schille, for any information on the process.

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is a federal department that works to strengthen western innovation, business development and entrepreneurship, and economic development.

WD has programs to fund research projects at universities that address their priorities:

  • Increasing technology commercialization
  • Expanding trade and investment
  • Enhancing business productivity and competitiveness

You’ll need UVic’s approval before preparing your WD proposal. Please contact the for any information on the process.

Institutional Research Review Committee

The Institutional Research Review Committee (IRRC) provides advice to the Vice-President Research, and the Vice-President Academic and Provost as required, on the evaluation, prioritization and strategic development of major institutional research initiatives in accordance with the IRRC Terms of Reference.

IRRC’s membership:
  • Associate Vice-President Research: Cynthia Milton
  • Associate Vice-President Research: Fraser Hof
  • Director Strategic Research Initiatives: Joaquin Trapero (chair)
Seven faculty members-at-large reflecting IRRC related competencies associated with the Tri-Agencies (2 members per Agency) and the Canada Council (1 member) selected by the VPRI based on nominations by the Deans:
  • Peggy Storey (NSERC)
  • Kim Venn (NSERC)
  • Cathy Costigan (SSHRC)
  • Ray Siemens (SSHRC)
  • Hector Caruncho (CIHR)
  • Ryan Rhodes (CIHR)
  • Yasmine Kandil (Canada Council)

The Manager Institutional Programs provides support to the IRRC. Additional members may be invited as needed on a temporary basis.