Skip to main content

UVic Physics and Astronomy scholars awarded international fellowships

November 16, 2023

UVic Distinguished Professor Arif Babul and Professor Adam Ritz have been elected Fellows of the American Physical Society, one of the field’s high honours bestowed on individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise. 

“It’s great that our department has achieved tremendous success with the APS this year,” says Byoung-Chul Choi, chair of UVic’s Department of Physics and Astronomy. “Congratulations to our outstanding faculty members, Dr. Arif Babul and Dr. Adam Ritz, for their well-deserved recognition as APS Fellows. This recognition reflects their dedication to excellence in research, encompassing advances in astrophysics, from galaxy formation and gravitational lensing to cosmic strings and warm dark matter, for Dr. Babul, and significant theoretical contributions to our understanding of dark matter in the universe for Dr. Ritz.”

As well, Babul has received a Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professorship at the University of Edinburgh.

“Congratulations to Arif for being awarded the prestigious Leverhulme Visiting Professorship,” Choi says. “He becomes a rare second-time recipient of this award. The last time, he held this at Universities of Oxford and Durham. This time, he will hold it at University of Edinburgh between 2024/2025. This is given to ‘an eminent senior professor from overseas, to bring genuinely novel expertise and enhance the skills and knowledge of academic staff and students in the UK.’" 

And there’s more! Among Professor Julio Navarro’s many national and international recognitions for his work, he has recently received a Royal Society Wolfson Visiting Fellowship at Durham University. These prestigious fellowships enable talented international research leaders to take a sabbatical in a UK university or research institution in order to foster international collaborative links and enrich scientific research. Navarro previously held Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professorships at Durham in 2005 and 2014.