Eagle awarded Hickman Award

Congratulations to Chris Eagle! He is this year’s recipient of the Harry Hickman Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership. The Harry Hickman Award is the highest honour for teaching excellence at the University of Victoria. This award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and educational leadership.

IMAGINING UVic Math Camp for Grade 11-12 Girls

IMAGINING UVic is a summer camp intended to encourage young women to pursue STEM fields. The program will be held on the UVic campus, providing participants with the opportunity to immerse themselves in the university environment. The program will run July 2 – 5, 2024, from 10:00am to 3:30pm each day. Interactive sessions lead by cutting-edge researchers will introduce participants to new and exciting math concepts which go beyond the BC curriculum. Participants will also have various opportunities to interact and form connections with professors and graduate students in mathematics.

Call for summer TA applications

There are approximately 20 positions ranging from 49 to 120 hours each, May through August 2024, and distributed as 8 to 12 hours weekly, for 12 weeks. Teaching Assistants mark assignments and midterms, instruct tutorials, or work in the Assistance Centre, which provides one-to-one tutoring with University of Victoria students enrolled in our first and second year Mathematics and Statistics courses.