Governance Structure

The Centre for Global Studies is governed by a Program Committee which meets several times each year.

The Program Committee is made up of University of Victoria faculty members. The committee reviews academic projects undertaken by the centre, adjudicates fellowship applications and provides liaison to UVic faculties and departments.

The committee chair is currently vacant. Our Associate Vice-President Research and Innovation serves in an ex-officio capacity. 

Committee Member Home Department Contact 
Cynthia Milton A/Associate Vice-President Research (ex-officio)
Oliver Schmidtke
Political Science, History, Centre for Global Studies
Kelly Bannister

POLIS Project on Ecological Governance 

Paul Bramadat

Centre for Studies in Religion
and Society (on leave until Summer 2023)

Oliver Brandes Strategic Partnerships and Public Policy, POLIS Project on Ecological Governance Website
Neilesh Bose History Website

Emmanuel Brunet-Jailly European Studies, School of Pubic Administration Website

Kathy Chan CSRS Acting Director (ex-officio)
Jutta-Gutberlet Geography
Helen Lansdowne Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives Website

Alan Pence School of Child & Youth Care, UNESCO Chair for Early Childhood Education Website

Astrid V. Pérez Piñán

 School of Public Admin

(on leave until Winter 2023)



Thank you to our previous committee members including:

  • Martin Bunton (chair), Department of History (2013-2022)
  • Marlea Clarke, Department of Political Science (2013-2020)
  • Lisa Kalynchuk, As Associate Vice President Research (2017-2019)
  • Michael Hayes, School of Public Health and Social Policy (2013-2016)
  • Michael Masson, As Acting Associate Vice President Research (2019-2020)
  • Sikata Banerjee, Department of Gender Studies (2013-2016)
  • Michael Miller, Associate Vice President Research (2013-2016)
  • Tom Pedersen, PICS (2013-2015)
  • Daromir Rudnyckyj, Department of Anthropology (2013-2014)
  • Leslie Brown, Community University Engagement (2013-2014)
  • Andrew Marton, AVP International, (2013-2014)

The CFGS program committee normally meets 2 times per year. It is composed of 10-12 members, including: CFGS Project Leads; ex-officio memberships representing other Centres as well as the Associate Vice-President Research; and, UVic faculty members from across the university. UVic faculty members normally serve a 2-year, renewable term. 

The program committee acts as a steering committee, advising the Centre’s director and providing strategic oversight; facilitating close relationships between the Centre and the broader university community; and, more specifically, reviewing applications for the Centre’s fellowship program.