Awards & Financial Aid

JCURA 2017, Rachel Corwin

JCURA 2021, Bethany Schofield

JCURA 2021, Foster Laycraft

JCURA 2023, Sage Benet


A number of awards, bursaries and in-course scholarships are available to help you reach your academic goals. There are two main types of scholarships, bursaries and awards: 

  1. Scholarships, bursaries and awards which are general and open to all UVic students.
  2. Scholarships, bursaries, and awards which are specific to the Department of French and Francophone Studies;

      - Applications not required: Adeline Julienne Deloume Memorial Scholarship, Alliance Française de Victoria Book Prize in Mermory of Dr W.D. Whiterspoon, Constance Ann Pettit Scholarship, Didier Bergeret Scholarship, Katharine Youdall Memorial Scholarship, Madame Berangere Steel Memorial Award.

      - Applications required: Ministry of Education - French Education Bursary, FSL bursary by ACUFC, Grace and Harry Hickman Scholarship, Myrna McEwen Daniels Scholarship, Jamie Cassels Undergraduate Research Award - JCURA (see details below)


(applications required)
Amount Details

Ministry of Education - French Education Bursary

$625 per semester (up to $1250 per year and $5000 per student)

Bursary of $625 per semester for Post-secondary Education in French from Ministry of Education is available to residents of British Columbia who are studying full-time at any post-secondary institution in Canada, and taking at least 55% of their courses in French during the semester for which the bursary is awarded. 

Deadline: Feb 28 of each year. (Ex: Feb 28, 2024 for 2023-2024 academic year.

Bursary candidates are encouraged to apply online as soon as possible. Please visit the Government's website for the full bursary criteria.


FSL bursary program by ACUFC


English-speaking Canadians enrolled in the first year of a college or university program have an opportunity to receive a $3,000 bursary to perfect their bilingualism while studying in a field of interest.

Deadline: Feb 28 of each year.


Myrna McEwen Daniels Scholarship


Four or more scholarships of a maximum of $2,000 each are awarded to academically outstanding undergraduate students entering second, third or fourth year and majoring in French. Preference will be given to students with demonstrated financial need. Students may receive this award more than once. Approval of the recipients will be made by the Senate Committee on Awards upon the recommendation of the Department of French and Francophone Studies. 

Deadline: May 31.

Apply via Online Tools

Grace and Harry Hickman Scholarship


Scholarships will be awarded to assist students to study French at a university in any region or country where French is the dominant language and where an immersive language and cultural experience is present. Applicants must be registered in a full time program, including at least one course in French, at the University of Victoria, and intend to study at a university where the language of instruction is French for one or more semesters and to return to the University of Victoria to complete the program requirements. The scholarship will be paid upon receipt of documents demonstrating the student’s registration at an acceptable institution. Students in any year of study are eligible. Approval of the recipients will be made by the Senate Committee on Awards on upon the recommendation of the Department of French and Francophone Studies.

Deadline: Written applications, including details of the proposed program, are to be submitted to the Department of French and Francophone Studies by April 1 of the academic year preceding the proposed study at another institution.

Apply via Online Tools



The Jamie Cassels Undergraduate Research Awards (JCURA) program was established in 2009-2010 by the Vice-President Academic and Provost. This UVic award encourages undergraduates to pursue innovative and original research and enhance learning while providing a valuable preparatory experience towards graduate studies or a research related career.

The Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI) administers the award process on behalf of the Provost’s Office.

Applications details 


Visit the Awards and Financial Aids page and the Department of French and Francophone Studies Awards for more helpful resources.