Faculty representatives to Senate

Under the University Act, the Senate is responsible for the academic governance of the university, including matters related to libraries, faculties, departments, courses of instruction, fellowships, scholarships, exhibitions, bursaries, prizes, admissions, student appeals, and the granting of degrees (including honorary degrees, diplomas and certificates). 

There are 32 faculty positions on Senate. Two members are elected from each faculty, with the remainder elected as at-large faculty members. Faculty members are elected to serve three-year terms, commencing on July 1st.

Call for nominations and elections are usually held in December and January. 

Learn about the jurisdiction of Senate, its composition and its committees on our website.

Senate plays a key role in the governance of the university. Please consider standing for election or nominating your colleagues.

Additional information:

THIRD Call: By-Election Human and Social Development Faculty Representative for Senate 2021-22

This is a Third Call for Nominations for one (1) regular faculty member from the Human and Social Development Faculty for a one-year term from July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022. 

Please download and complete the nomination form.

Nomination Form

Nominations due: Friday, April 16, 2021 4:30 p.m. to usec@uvic.ca

If there is more than one candidate, an election will be held May 17-21, 2021.

 Faculty Representatives for Senate 2021-24

All positions have now been filled.

Social Sciences


Fine Arts 

Human and Social Development 



Professional Librarian Representative for Senate 2021-24

By-Election Faculty of Fine Arts Representatives for Senate 2021-22

Members-at-Large (Faculty) Representatives for Senate 2021-24

Results: Elections to Senate

An election was held from 9 a.m. Monday, March 22 to 4 p.m. Tuesday, March 30, 2021.
The following representatives were elected:

  • Erin Kelly
  • Graham Voss
  • Li-Shih Huang

Thank you to all candidates and voters for their involvement and interest in Senate.