Convocation Senators


Eligible Voters

UVic Convocation membership includes:

  • Alumni
  • Past and present members of Senate and Board of Governors
  • Regular and retired faculty members
  • Regular staff members holding a university degree who have worked at UVic for at least 12 months
  • Students who completed one full year at Victoria College before 1963

Members are automatically added to the Convocation. Correspondence will occur via the email address on file.

All Convocation members are eligible to vote for these positions. In accordance with the University Act, Convocation Senator positions are for persons who are not faculty members at the University of Victoria.  

About the UVic Senate

Under the University Act, the Senate is responsible for the academic governance of the university, including libraries, faculties, departments, course instruction, fellowships, scholarships, exhibitions, bursaries, prizes, admissions, student appeals, and granting degrees (including honorary degrees, diplomas and certificates). 

Senate plays a key role in the governance of the university.