Valued Elder Recognition Award (VERA)

2016 VERA recipients
2016 VERA recipients at the Salvation Army Citadel

This annual award is presented on or around October 1st, the International Day of Older Persons (IDOP). The 17th VERA recognition ceremony will be held on Friday, September 29, 2017 at the Salvation Army Citadel.

Since 2000, the VERA has honoured volunteers who, over their lifetime, have given exemplary service to helping others in the Capital Regional District (CRD).

Starting in 2016, the Institute on Aging and Lifelong Health and the Eldercare Foundation began partnering to present the VERA. With the Eldercare Foundation’s support, the VERA will recognize those who make a difference each and every day. Agencies and individuals are invited to make one nomination each year.

We give our congratulations and a warm thank you to the 2016 VERA recipients. Thank you for all your contributions to our community.

Nomination form for VERA 2018 coming soon.

Click here for guidelines for letter of Support

The nomination eligibility criteria for the Valued Elder Recognition Award:

  1. The individual must have made an exemplary contribution within the Capital Regional District (CRD)* for a minimum of ten years and not have been paid for the contributions for which they are being honoured. 

  2. While the contributions must have been made within the CRD, the individual need not be residing in the CRD at the present time.
  3. The individual must agree to stand for the nomination.

  4. The contributions made by the nominee must be supported by at least 4 letters of support from individuals in the community (see Guidelines for Letter of support). The nominator must provide one of the letters of support.

  5. Contributions in other communities will be considered if the first criterion has been met.

  6. Posthumous awards will not be given.

  7. One award nomination per agency.

*Municipalities in Capital Regional District: Central Saanich, Colwood, Esquimalt, Highlands, Langford, Metchosin, North Saanich, Oak Bay, Saanich, Sidney, Sooke, Victoria, View Royal, Salt Spring Island, Juan de Fuca (Willis point, Malahat, East Sooke, Otter Point, Shirley, Jordan River, and Port Renfrew), Southern Gulf Island (Galiano, Mayne, Saturna, Piers, North and South Pender Island)

Past VERA nominees and recipients

*The 2011 VERA was not presented due to organizational restructuring.