Joint Local Safety Committees

Joint Local Safety Committees (LSCs) play a key role in promoting a healthy and safe working environment for all building occupants.

LSCs coordinate building safety initiatives, recommend actions which will improve the effectiveness of the OHSE program and promote compliance with the WorkSafeBC Regulations.

If you have any questions about Local Safety Committees, please contact  

Joint Local Safety Committee Responsible Dean/Director Management Co-chair Employee Co-chair
Animal Care Services Veterinary Director AHT Coordinator RLAT
Athletics AVP, Student Affairs Michelle Peterson Paul Johnson
Business & Economics and David Strong Dean, Faculty of Business Erin Kilpatrick Jake Ganzeveld
Campus Security Director, Campus Security Patrick Seward Sherri Edwards
Campus Services AVP, Student Affairs Neil Wedin Arden Little
Child Care Services Director, Campus Services Kim Ainsworth Katy Gregg
Clearihue Dean, Faculty of Humanities; CIO Chris Goto-Jones Dave Bakken
David Turpin and Cornett Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences Rosemary Barlow Heather Bishop
Education Dean, Faculty of Education Marian Postnikoff Christine Webster
Engineering Dean, Faculty of Engineering Mary-Anne Teo Tony Antoniou
Facilities Management Executive Director, FMGT Leigh Andersen Marc Lesperance
Fine Arts Dean, Faculty of Fine Arts Samantha Knudson Kirk McNally
Food Services Executive Director, Student Services Kelly Bailey Sylvia Andre
Health Services Executive Director, Student Services Rob Crisp Carla Garton
Human & Social Development Dean, Faculty of HSD Marie Eardley Andrea Roszmann
Law Dean, Faculty of Law Rosemary McCutcheon Jordan Forbes
Mearns Centre University Librarian Marthese Cassar   Louise Labonte
Michael Williams and Continuing Studies VPFO; Dean, Faculty of Continuing Studies Trish Atchison Jayne Hawkins
Ocean Networks Canada President, Ocean Networks Canada Adrian Round Matthew Uganecz
Proteomics Centre Dean of Science David Schibli Angela Jackson
Residence Services Executive Director, Student Services Kathryn MacLeod Ivy Reid
Saunders Annex Executive Director, Financial Services; Director, Campus Services Tony Doig Stephen Wylie
Science and Medicine Dean, Faculty of Science; Head, Medical Science Igor Chetyrin Corrina Ewan
Sedgewick and Hickmann AVP, Human Resources Rebecca Lumley Jodie Walsh
University Centre AVP, Student Affairs Bruno Rocca Kathy MacLeod
University Club General Manager, University Club Dan Angus TBD
University Hut R Director, Institute on Aging & Lifelong Health Lois Holizki Arlene Senft

Joint LSCs are responsible for:

  • Conducting documented monthly meetings, with designated Employee and Management co-Chairs.
  • Participating in general annual building inspection of common areas.
  • Conducting and reviewing incident investigations, hazard report reviews or other WorkSafeBC investigations, as appropriate.
Full details on LSC roles and responsibilities are described in the University and Joint Local Safety Committee Terms of Reference. 


Each LSC is required by WorkSafeBC to complete an annual evaluation of their committee's activities.

LSC Co-Chairs should complete the annual evaluation form and review it with their membership no later than February, for the previous year's activities.

Please contact  if you have any questions or require assistance.  

All new members to Local Safety Committees (LSC) are required by WorkSafeBC to complete a prescribed course within six months of joining the LSC. 

Please visit the LSC training page for enrollment.