Athletics and Recreation

Athletics and recreation at any level are a big part of life at UVic. Our popular recreational options are designed to suit everyone from competitive athletes to occasional treadmill users and our student varsity teams are some of the best in the country.

Vikes Athletics and Recreation (ATRS) facilities and programs are open to UVic students, staff, faculty and alumni, as well as the local Victoria community and operate out of the state-of-the-art Centre for Athletics, Recreation and Special Abilities (CARSA). This world-class facility opened in May 2015 and includes:

  • 2,100-seat performance gym
  • three-court multipurpose fieldhouse
  • two-level fitness weight training area
  • Peninsula Co-op Climbing Centre
  • dedicated TRX and spin rooms
  • dance space and yoga studios
  • squash and racquetball courts
  • rowing ergometer centre
  • Half Time snack and refreshment facility

In addition to sports and recreations, CARSA is also home to CanAssist, which develops technologies, programs and services that help people with disabilities improve their quality of life, and physiotherapy services for the campus and local community through the new Sport Therapy Clinic.

Athletics

ATRS Athletics

Vikes Athletics includes 16 men’s and women’s varsity teams across 8 sports and boasts 74 Canadian University National Championships. Vikes athletes and coaches have made 173 Olympic or Paralympic appearances since 1976.

Sports offered for our students include: basketball, cross-country/track, field hockey, golf, rowing, rugby, soccer, and swimming.

Read more

Recreation

ATRS Recreation

Vikes Recreation includes fitness opportunities, recreation clubs and activities, aquatics and intramural programs open to students, staff, faculty, alumni and the wider Victoria community.

Join a TRX, pilates, yoga or dance class, try out an intramural sport like dodgeball, flag football or ice hockey, or check out some of the 25 sport recreation clubs on campus.

Read more

Contact Athletics and Recreation

Contact

Mailing address:

Athletics and Recreation
Division of Student Affairs
University of Victoria
PO Box 1700 STN CSC
Victoria BC V8W 2Y2
Canada

Courier or in-person address:

Athletics and Recreation
University of Victoria
Centre For Athletics Recreation and Special Abilities A249
3800 FInnerty Road (Ring Road)
Victoria BC V8P 5C2
Campus Map

Phone/email:

Phone: 250-721-8409
Email:

Directory listing

Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail
General Office 250-721-8409 ARC A249
FAX - Vikes Athletics and Recreation 250-721-8956
CARSA Facility Bookings Tracy Moir 250-472-4652 ARC 108 atrsbook@uvic.ca
Membership Services Counter 250-472-4000 vikesrec@uvic.ca
FAX - Membership Services 250-472-4768
Facility Supervisor Shelby Dreher 250-472-4529 ARC 108 vikesfacility@uvic.ca
Facility Attendant II Paul Johnson 250-721-6473 ARC B107 pmjohn@uvic.ca
Facility Attendant II Stuart Bristow 250-472-4040 MCK 012 stuartb@uvic.ca
Director Clint Hamilton 250-721-6519 ARC A243a vikesdir@uvic.ca
Assistant to the Director Christine Corr 250-721-6519 ARC A243 vikesdir@uvic.ca
Associate Director, Finance & Operations Michelle Peterson 250-721-8412 ARC A238 mpeterso@uvic.ca
Budget and Business Analyst Jill Morrison 250-721-6531 ARC A236 vikesbudget@uvic.ca
Supervisor of Administration Gail Milliken 250-721-8409 ARC A249 gmillike@uvic.ca
Accounting Clerk Andrea Chan 250-721-7281 ARC A237 vikeacct@uvic.ca
Associate Director, Sport James Keogh 250-721-8411 ARC A252 jkeogh@uvic.ca
Alumni and Annual Giving Officer Annie Taal 250-472-4642 ARC A234 vikesalumni@uvic.ca
Vikes Alumni Relations Coordinator Derushka Pillay 250-721-8888 ARC A253 vikesalumcoor@uvic.ca
Athletics Administration Officer Nancy Duncan 250-721-8719 ARC A248 nduncan@uvic.ca
Head Strength & Conditioning Coordinator Nick Clarke ARC A255 nclarke@csipacific.ca
Swimming, Head Coach Peter Vizsolyi 250-721-8834 ARC A257 vizsolyi@uvic.ca
Basketball (W), Head Coach Dani Sinclair 250-721-8415 ARC A258 dsinclr@uvic.ca
Basketball (M), Head Coach Craig Beaucamp 250-721-7588 ARC A260 craigb@uvic.ca
Soccer (W), Head Coach Tracy David 250-721-8394 ARC A262 tdavid@uvic.ca
Soccer (M), Head Coach Bruce Wilson 250-721-8417 ARC A254 bwilson@uvic.ca
Rugby (W), Head Coach Brittany Waters 604-813-2755 ARC A257 wrugby@uvic.ca
Rugby (M), Head Coach Doug Tate 250-884-7239 ARC A265 dtate@uvic.ca
Cross Country/Track, Head Coach Hilary Stellingwerff 250-721-8408 ARC A264 hstellin@uvic.ca
Field Hockey (W), Head Coach Lynne Beecroft 250-721-8422 ARC A256 beecroft@uvic.ca
Field Hockey (M), Head Coach Derrick Norton 250-893-5248 ARC A257 mensfieldhockey@uvic.ca
Golf (M&W), Head Coach Justin Clews 250-853-3967 ARC A255 jclews@uvic.ca
Rowing (M), Head Coach Aalbert Van Schothorst 250-472-4037 ARC A259 mensrow@uvic.ca
Rowing (W), Head Coach Barney Williams 250-472-4036 ARC A261 womensrow@uvic.ca
Associate Director, Marketing, Engagement & Programs Melissa Keil 250-721-7590 ARC A228 mkeil@uvic.ca
Partnership Development Officer Bianca Chu 250-721-7891 ARC A244 vikespdo@uvic.ca
Sponsorship Coordinator Nikki Grobbecker 250-721-8964 ARC A253 stuasponsor@uvic.ca
Marketing & Communication Officer Marc Johns 250-721-8475 ARC A246 marcjohns@uvic.ca
Vikes Media Technical Lead Scott Thorpe 250-472-5388 ARC A239 vikesmediatech@uvic.ca
Sports Information Coordinator Tyler Lowey 250-721-8410 ARC A245 vicvikes@uvic.ca
Digital Content Coordinator Michael Pettit 250-721-8725 ARC A245 vikesdigital@uvic.ca
Vikes Events Coordinator Larissa McKinlay 250-721-8414 ARC A250 athevent@uvic.ca
Recreation Clerk - General Inquiries Joanne Scott 250-721-7282 ARC A221 jscott3@uvic.ca
Campus Engagement Blair Smith 250-721-6626 ARC A232 vikesengagement@uvic.ca
Membership Services Administrator Brenda Wickware 250-721-6513 ARC 112 bwickwar@uvic.ca
Intramurals/Outdoor Recreation Programme Joni Richardson 250-472-4043 ARC A222 imfun@uvic.ca
Sports Club, Racquet Sports, Martial Arts & Special Events Programmer Jason Wright 250-472-4038 ARC A242 jwright@uvic.ca
Camps and Community Programmer Kathleen Wirtanen 250-853-3500 ARC A240 kathwirt@uvic.ca
Active Living, Senior Coordinator Amy Allen 250-721-8721 ARC A220 achayko@uvic.ca
A/Aquatics, Dance and Informal Recreation Coordinator Brad Bouchard 250-721-8413 ARC A224 aquaticscoordinator@uvic.ca
Peninsula Co-op Climbing Centre Sebastian Powell 250-721-6517 ARC A233 powells@uvic.ca
Sport Injury Clinic Shannon Nielsen 250-472-4057 ARC B167 physio@uvic.ca
Sport Injury Clinic Darla MacIver 250-472-4057 ARC B167 physio@uvic.ca
Athletic Therapist Traci Vander Byl 250-721-6130 ARC B167 vikesat@uvic.ca
Physiotherapist Leigh Negin 250-472-4057 ARC B167 lnegin@uvic.ca
Physiotherapist Isaac Davies 250-472-4057 ARC B167 ildavies@hotmail.com
CARSA Equipment Desk 250-472-4044 ARC B102
McKinnon Equipment Desk 250-721-8484 McK
Ian Stewart Complex - Rink 250-472-5604 ISC
Centennial Stadium 250-721-8483
Summer Camps 250-472-5167 vikecamp@uvic.ca