Colloquia and Seminars 2018-19


Colloquia, seminar and other talks from previous academic years are listed in our archive.

Colloquia are held weekly on Wednesdays during the academic year (September through to April) in the Bob Wright Centre Building Room A104 at 3:30 pm (unless otherwise stated). They are geared at a general audience—faculty, staff, students and interested members of the general public are welcome.


Wednesday, September 12, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, September 19, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, October 10, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, November 7, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, November 21, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, December 5, 2018
TBA

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, February 27, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, March 6, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, March 13, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, March 20, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, March 27, 2019
TBA

Wednesday, April 3, 2019
TBA

 

Seminars are specialized and geared for those in a particular field. Dates and times for these talks vary.


TBA

 

The Café Scientifique series is an informal series of talks given in a relaxed setting such as a café. These talks are designed to engage the public in learning about recent research in science. Given by experts in the field, these talks provide an opportunity to stimulate discussion around some of the most exciting topics in modern science. Join us for this exciting series in 2018-19!


The 2018-19 Café Scientifique series of talks includes:

Tuesday, September 11, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

Tuesday, October 9, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

Tuesday, November 13, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

Tuesday, February 12, 2019
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

Tuesday, March 12, 2019
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

Tuesday, April 9, 2019
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
TBA

SPECIAL TALKS

ARC Seminar Series
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
 12:00 p.m. / David Strong Building, Room C108
Dr. Lisa Locke, Millimetre Technology Group, NRC Herzberg
Here be Dragons: How to Grow Cryogenic Microwave Instrumentation Engineers

PAST TALKS

Special Talk
Thursday, June 28, 2018
UVic: 9:30 am / MacLaurin Building, Room D114
DAO: 3:00 pm / Library
Nicholas McConnel & Austin Barnes, University of California, Santa Cruz
The Thirly Meter Telescope Early-Career Initiative: opportunities for grad students and postdocs.