Faculty directory

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey 250-721-8182
Remedies, insurance, torts, feminist analysis of law, law and society, and race, ethnicity, and the law. 

John Borrows
Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law
On leave July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018

250-721-8168
Indigenous law, environmental law, constitutional law.

Brad Bryan

250-721-8164
bwb@uvic.ca

Taxation law, First Nations taxation

Gillian Calder
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250-721-8152
lawassoc@uvic.ca
Family law and social issues, constitutional law, gender equality.

Jamie L Cassels, QC
Serving as University President

Remedies, legal theory, contracts, torts.

Kathryn Chan

250-721-8163
kmchan@uvic.ca

Nonprofit sector law, law and religion, administrative law and regulation, trusts, the law of gift.

Patricia Cochran 250-721-8183

Constitutional law, political and legal theory, law of evidence, human rights, social welfare law.

Deborah L Curran,
Acting Executive Director, Environmental Law Centre

250-853-3105
dlc@uvic.ca
Water law, municipal law, growth management and land use law, environmental law, agricultural land and food systems, real estate and shared-decision making.

Maneesha Deckha
Lansdowne Chair in Law
Director, Graduate Program

250-721-8175
mdeckha@uvic.ca
Animal law, health, bioethics, feminist analysis.

Gerry Ferguson

250-721-8174
gferguso@uvic.ca
Corruption, criminal law, criminal procedure, sentencing, mental health law.
Glenn Gallins, QC
Director of the Law Centre Clinical Legal Education Program
250-385-1221
glenn.gallins@thelawcentre.ca
Clinical and public legal education.
Mark R Gillen 250-721-8169
mgillen@uvic.ca
Securities, trusts, business associations, tax and competition law.

Donna Greschner
On leave September 1, 2017 - February 28, 2018

250-721-8866
dgresch@uvic.ca
Constitutional law, comparative constitutional law, human rights (focus on equality rights), political and legal theory.
Robert Howell 250-721-8186
rhowell@uvic.ca
Intellectual property, technology, telecommunications, private international law.
Rebecca Johnson 250-721-8187
rjohnson@uvic.ca
Criminal law, legal process, business associations.

Asad Kiyani

250-472-5247
akiyani@uvic.ca

Criminal law, refugee law.

Freya Kodar
Associate Dean, Administration and Research

250-721-8190
law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca
Pension (public and private), consumer law and policy, debt and credit regulation, income security, care work, disability and the law.

Michelle Lawrence  

250-721-8894
mlawr@uvic.ca
Criminal law, evidence, sentencing, substance abuse and mental disorder, relationship violence, police accountability.
Colin Macleod 250-721-7521
cmacleod@uvic.ca
Philosophy, liberal equality.
Ted L. McDorman 250-721-8181
tlmcdorm@uvic.ca
Public international law, international ocean law.
Jerry McHale, QC 250-721-7647
mjmchale@uvic.ca
Access to justice, justice reform, mediation and dispute resolution, child welfare and family law.
Val Napoleon
Law Foundation Professor of Aboriginal Justice and Governance
250-721-8172
napoleon@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal traditions, Indigenous feminist legal studies, governance, restorative justice, Indigenous property law, Aboriginal legal issues.

Kim Nayyer
Associate University Librarian - Law, Legal Research & Writing Program
250-721-8564
knayyer@uvic.ca
Law librarian, legal research instruction, law library collection management.
Andrew Newcombe
On leave July 1, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017
250-721-8161
newcombe@uvic.ca
International investment law and arbitration, international trade law and contracts.
Pooja Parmar 250-721-8179

legal pluralism, legal ethics, int’l human rights law, legal history, law and colonialism.

Victor V. Ramraj
Director, Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives (CAPI)
250-721-8154
Comparative constitutional and administrative law (SE Asia), transnational regulation, law and globalization, emergency powers in Asia.

Sara Ramshaw

250-721-8165 sararamshaw@uvic.ca

Family law, human rights, contracts.

D Heather Raven, QC

250-472-5247
hraven@uvic.ca
Indigenous law, labour law.
Tim Richards
Director, First-Year Legal Research and Writing Program
250-721-8185
trichard@uvic.ca
Human rights law, poverty and social policy, legal skills education.

Supriya Routh

250-853-3167
srouth@uvic.ca
Work and labour law, international labour law, atypical and informal workers in the global south, human rights.

Calvin Sandborn
Legal Director of the Environmental Law Centre

250-472-5248
csandbor@uvic.ca
Environmental law

Chris Tollefson

250-721-8170
ctollef@uvic.ca
Environmental law and litigation, sustainability, environmental governance, forestry, Aboriginal law, access to justice.

Jeremy Webber
Dean of Law

250-721-8147
lawdean@uvic.ca
Indigenous legal rights, cultural diversity, constitutional theory.

Name

Phone

Email

Jeremy Webber
Dean of Law
250 721-8147
Gillian Calder
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations
250 721-8152 lawassoc@uvic.ca
Freya Kodar
Associate Dean, Administration and Research
250 721-8190 law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca

Name

Course

Email

Oliver Brandes
Andrew Buck 343: Recovering "Lost" Law in Canada andrewbuck@uvic.ca
Barbara Carmichael
Chief Justice Thomas Crabtree
Joan Chambers
Roshan Danesh 343: Law, Legal Practices & Social Change
Bradley Danks
Mary Falconer 387: Health Law
Stephen Ferance stephen.ferance@gowlings.com
Judy Fudge J.A.Fudge@kent.ac.uk
Richard Fyfe
Peter Gall
Jonas Gifford
Kevin Gillese 360: Legal Ethics & Professionalism
Mike Gillis
Hugh Gwillim 356: Advocacy Hugh.Gwillim@gov.bc.ca
Alan Hanna 340: Indigenous Lands, Rights and Governance ahanna@uvic.ca
Andrew Harding
Rod Hayley rhayley@uvic.ca
Kimberly Henders Miller
Tamara Hodge 303: Criminal Procedure
Samantha Hulme
Hank Intven 367: Communications Law & Policy
Veronica Jackson 360: Legal Ethics & Professionalism
Nils Jensen

309: Evidence
360: Legal Ethics & Professionalism

Christopher Jones 343: Energy Law Christopher.H.Jones@gov.bc.ca
Michael Litchfield
Director, Business Law Clinic

349: Business Law Clinic

mlitchfield@thinklabconsulting.com

Timothy Lo
Bryant Mackey
Raji Mangat 359: Civil Liberties & the Charter
Steven McKoen
Catherine Morris
Michael Munro 356: Advocacy mjmbarrister@gmail.com
Justice Jeff Oliphant 307B: Civil Procedure joliphant@judicom.ca
Joel Oliphant 307B: Civil Procedure
Paul Pearson 303: Criminal Procedure pearson@mtplaw.com
Jarrett Plonka

Jarrett.Plonka@GovLaw.ca

Deanna Rivers

320: Wills, Estates and Succession Planning

rivers@sll.ca

Kurt Sandstrom 372: Public Policy, Law & Dispute Resolution
Kate Saunders 387: Health Law
Tamara Saunders 307B: Civil Procedure w/ Drafting
Theodore Sum
Sharon Sutherland 337: Dispute Resolution tndmmediation@gmail.com
Eric Tucker
Neil Vallance 317: Real Property Transactions nvallanc@uvic.ca
Ian Wiebe 355: Legal Skills
Jeffrey Young
Qianfan Zhang