Network for European studies


Photo credit by Sarah Grunert

The EU Study Tour and Internship Program is organized by the Network for European Studies (Canada). The Network for European Studies is an informal consortium of universities whose faculty teach and conduct research in the field of European studies with emphasis on the EU.

The membership of the Network has evolved since it was founded in 2004. Currently, the Network members are: Carleton University, Dalhousie University, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, the University of British Columbia, and the University of Victoria.

The EU Study Tour and Internship Program is the largest and most comprehensive program of its kind in Canada and, perhaps, in North America. The University of Victoria provides the administrative and organizational support for the Study Tour and offers undergraduate credit to any participating undergraduate student outside Carleton and UBC who offer their own courses based on this experiential learning opportunity. The Network decides on the focus, themes, and other program-related matters as well as the selection of participants.

The Network also advises on internship placements. Individual faculty sponsors are responsible for recruitment, selection, and evaluation of their students participating in the Study Tour. The faculty sponsors from the participating institutions (institutes, centres and departments) collectively comprise the Network.  

The Board

The Board is responsible for the overall planning of the Study Tour, review of student selection, and review of administration. Members of the Board are: Crina Viju (Carleton University); Conrad King (Kwantlen Polytechnic University); Ruben Zaiotti (Dalhousie University); Kurt Huebner (UBC), and, Paul Schure (UVic).

Member universities

  • Carleton University
  • Dalhousie University
  • University of British Columbia
  • Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • University of Victoria

Participating universities

  • Université de Montréal
  • Bishop's University

  • Capilano University
  • McGill University

  • Queen's University

  • University of Toronto

  • University of Western Ontario
  • Simon Fraser University

  • St. Lawrence University

  • University of Alberta

  • York University

European partners

  • Université Saint Louis 

  • Bruegel

  • Centre for European Policy Studies

  • Fachhochschule der Deutschen Bundesbank

  • Payoke: NGO Counter Trafficking

  • University of Latvia

  • Canadian Mission to the European Union

  • Delegate General of Québec to the European Union

  • Canadian Embassy to the Netherlands

  • European Commission 

Contacts at network and other participating universities

University Contact person Information
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Dr. Conrad King Department of Political Science

Carleton University

Dr. Crina Viju

Institute of European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
613.520.6200 x8440                                  

Dalhousie University Dr. Ruben Zaiotti Director, European Centre of Excellence  
University of British Columbia Dr. Kurt Hübner Institute for European Studies
University of Victoria Brooke Isherwood  European Studies Program Administrative Assistant