Skip to main content


A delegate speaking to new graduates surrounded by traditional and Indigenous furnishings

Conferral process

Before students are individually presented, the following interactive exchange occurs:

The Presentation

The President presents all candidates for degrees with these words:

“Chancellor Buller, the Deans of the Faculties have assured me that the candidates to be presented to you this day, and those who are absent, have fulfilled all the requirements for their degree, diploma or certificate; and the Senate requests that you confer upon each one the degree, diploma or certificate for which he or she is now recommended.”

The Admission

The Chancellor then addresses the candidates:

“By authority of the Senate of this University, I admit you to the degree and award you the diploma or certificate to which you and those in absentia are entitled, and urge you to strive always with patience and sincerity for the instruction and sound learning of all people.”

The Pledge

The Chancellor then addresses the candidates:

“Graduates, will each of you accept the degree to which you are entitled, with its inherent rights and privileges and the responsibility and loyalty which it implies?”

Each candidate replies:

“I accept this degree, with its inherent rights and privileges and the responsibility and loyalty which it implies.”

Ceremonial furnishings

The Chancellor’s chair and ceremonial furnishings used at convocation are the generous gift of the late Dr. Michael C. Williams. They constitute five magnificent works of art, created through a collaboration among twelve West Coast artists. The furnishings were completed in 1994. Their style and imagery draw on the myths and artistic traditions of the Northwest Coast Aboriginal nations, home communities to many University of Victoria students.

Convocation stage with all furnishings and with seated dignitaries in full regalia

The kneeling stool was created by Roberta Louis, weaver, and Susan Point, carver, both Coast Salish of the Musqueam Band, with artist Glen Tallio (Nuxalk).

The Chancellor's chair was created by Carvers Art Thompson (Nuu-chah-nulth), Calvin Hunt (Kwagiulth), Norman Tait (Nisga’a), John Livingston (adopted Kwagiulth), and Don Yeomans (Haida) collaborated with weavers Ann Smith (Tutchone-Tlingit) and Cheryl Samuel (adopted Tlingit).

The Chief Speaker’s staff was designed and carved by Kwagiulth artist, Richard Hunt.

The raven lectern is also the work of John Livingston.

The kneeling figure mace stand was sculpted by Tom Hunt (Kwagiulth).