Governance overview

Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

The University of Victoria operates under the authority of the University Act and is governed by a Board of Governors and a Senate.

In accordance with the University Act, the Board of Governors is responsible for the management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of the university. The Senate is responsible for the academic governance of the university, including matters related to libraries, faculties, departments, courses of instruction, awards, exhibitions, admissions, student appeals, and the granting of degrees (including honorary degrees, diplomas and certificates).

The Board of Governors and the Senate each meet regularly as a whole and may establish standing or ad hoc committees. These committees report their activities and recommendations to the governing body.

The Board of Governors and the Senate approve university policies and procedures; other university policies and procedures fall under the authority of the president and the vice-presidents. For a complete list of university policies, please refer to the online policy manual.