Chancellor Shelagh Rogers
Chancellor Shelagh Rogers

Shelagh Rogers, OC became the University of Victoria’s 11th chancellor on January 1, 2015.

A veteran broadcast journalist, she is currently the host and a producer of The Next Chapter, a CBC Radio program devoted to Canadian writing. She moved to BC in 2003 after 23 years working on cultural and current affairs radio programs with CBC. In 2011, she was named an Officer of the Order of Canada for promoting Canadian culture and for her volunteer work in the fields of mental health and adult literacy. Ms. Rogers holds honorary doctorates from the University of Western Ontario, Mount Allison University, Memorial University, Nipissing University and Vancouver Island University.

Ms. Rogers has committed herself to working toward reconciliation between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people from coast to coast to coast, and was inducted as an Honorary Witness for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in June 2011.

Of the University of Victoria, she has said, “There is no real or metaphorical wall around the UVic campus. I sense an openness to new ideas and fresh approaches to engagement of the university community and beyond. I really believe in the values of UVic. As a mental health activist and an advocate for adult literacy, I have worked towards civic engagement for many years. I’m deeply interested in how to excite the hearts and minds of young people in Canada to create a better, stronger country and world. UVic’s commitment to Aboriginal students and communities was another compelling reason for me to take on this new role.”

“Being a witness to convocation, one of life’s benchmark days, and helping launch students into the world as bachelors, masters and doctors is an enormous honour,” adds Ms. Rogers.

She will continue working on The Next Chapter while serving as chancellor.

Role of the Chancellor

The Chancellor is the titular head of the university and the chair of its convocation. In addition to conferring degrees and performing other ceremonial functions, she or he serves as a member of the Board of Governors and the Senate. The chancellor serves ex officio on the Board’s Executive and Governance Committee, Finance Committee and Operations and Facilities Committee, and traditionally chairs the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees and Other Forms of Recognition. She or he is an ambassador for and a champion of the university.

Appointment of the Chancellor

In accordance with the University Act, the Chancellor is appointed by the Board of Governors on nomination by the Alumni Association and after consultation with the Senate.

At the University of Victoria, the Procedures for the Appointment of the Chancellor define the method by which the appointment or re-appointment of the Chancellor will be conducted by the Board of Governors.

Past Chancellors

  • Murray Farmer (2009-2014)
  • Ronald Lou-Poy (2003-2008)
  • Norma Mickelson (1997-2002)
  • Robert G. Rogers (1991-1996)*
  • William C. Gibson (1985-1990)*
  • Ian McTaggart Cowan (1979-1984)*
  • Robert T. Wallace (1973-1978)*
  • Roderick L. Haig-Brown (1970-1972)*
  • Richard B. Wilson (1967-1969)*
  • J.B. Clearihue (1964-1966)*

* Deceased

For more information regarding the Chancellor, please contact or 250-721-8103.