News and events

Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice: An INKE- and CAPOS-hosted gathering

December 8-9 2pm-4pm PST
***

We are pleased to announce our upcoming Implementing New Knowledge Environments (INKE) Partnership and Canadian-Australian Partnership for Open Scholarship (CAPOS) gathering, Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice .This conference will take place online, from December 8-9 (Canada time) / December 9-10 (Australasian time).

Registration:Thanks to the support of CAPOS, the INKE Partnership, the Electronic Textual Cultures Lab, and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, registration forthis event is free and open to all: https://uvic.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_6xcxZAPKTqqakJojXmseMg. ( Please note that registration will generate a unique zoom link so if your friends or colleagues would like to attend they should register for access!)


Day-of details
Live events will take place synchronously at the following times:

  • Canadian timezones:

    December 8th-9th, 2pm-4pm PST (Vancouver) / 3pm-5pm MST (Edmonton) / 4pm-6pm CST (Saskatoon) / 5pm-7pm EST (Toronto) / 6pm-8pm AST (Halifax)

  • Australasian timezones: December 9th-10th, 6am-8am AWST (Perth) / 9am-11am AEDT (Sydney) / 11am-1pm NZDT (Auckland)
Pre-recorded lightning talks will be available from November 29th onward for registered attendees.


We look forward to live panels featuring:

  • Clare Appavoo (Canadian Research Knowledge Network)
  • Tully Barnett (Flinders U)
  • Jonathan Bengtson (UVic)
  • Susan Brown (U Guelph)
  • Constance Crompton (U Ottawa)
  • Ian Duncan (Australian Research Data Commons)
  • Susan Haigh (Canadian Association of Research Libraries)
  • Janet Halliwell (J.E. Halliwell Associates)
  • Inba Kehoe (UVic)
  • Amanda Lawrence (RMIT)
  • Michelle Levy (Simon Fraser U)
  • Gabriel Miller (Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Tanja Niemann (Érudit)
  • Deb Verhoeven (U Alberta)


The program also includes facilitated short sessions for clusters of lightning talks, allowing participants to discuss pre-recorded and pre-circulated talks in real time.


Thank you for your interest and potential participation in our INKE and CAPOS-hosted gathering, Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice.We are excited to watch the collaborations that unfold as a diverse group of participants comes together over a shared interest in openscholarship!

VSMF: Beethoven’s Complete Sonatas for Violin and Piano

First-term examinations begin for all faculties

Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice: An INKE- and CAPOS-hosted gathering

December 8-9 2pm-4pm PST
***

We are pleased to announce our upcoming Implementing New Knowledge Environments (INKE) Partnership and Canadian-Australian Partnership for Open Scholarship (CAPOS) gathering, Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice .This conference will take place online, from December 8-9 (Canada time) / December 9-10 (Australasian time).

Registration:Thanks to the support of CAPOS, the INKE Partnership, the Electronic Textual Cultures Lab, and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, registration forthis event is free and open to all: https://uvic.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_6xcxZAPKTqqakJojXmseMg. ( Please note that registration will generate a unique zoom link so if your friends or colleagues would like to attend they should register for access!)


Day-of details
Live events will take place synchronously at the following times:

  • Canadian timezones:

    December 8th-9th, 2pm-4pm PST (Vancouver) / 3pm-5pm MST (Edmonton) / 4pm-6pm CST (Saskatoon) / 5pm-7pm EST (Toronto) / 6pm-8pm AST (Halifax)

  • Australasian timezones: December 9th-10th, 6am-8am AWST (Perth) / 9am-11am AEDT (Sydney) / 11am-1pm NZDT (Auckland)
Pre-recorded lightning talks will be available from November 29th onward for registered attendees.


We look forward to live panels featuring:

  • Clare Appavoo (Canadian Research Knowledge Network)
  • Tully Barnett (Flinders U)
  • Jonathan Bengtson (UVic)
  • Susan Brown (U Guelph)
  • Constance Crompton (U Ottawa)
  • Ian Duncan (Australian Research Data Commons)
  • Susan Haigh (Canadian Association of Research Libraries)
  • Janet Halliwell (J.E. Halliwell Associates)
  • Inba Kehoe (UVic)
  • Amanda Lawrence (RMIT)
  • Michelle Levy (Simon Fraser U)
  • Gabriel Miller (Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Tanja Niemann (Érudit)
  • Deb Verhoeven (U Alberta)


The program also includes facilitated short sessions for clusters of lightning talks, allowing participants to discuss pre-recorded and pre-circulated talks in real time.


Thank you for your interest and potential participation in our INKE and CAPOS-hosted gathering, Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice.We are excited to watch the collaborations that unfold as a diverse group of participants comes together over a shared interest in openscholarship!

Eric Metcalfe: Pop Anthropology

Pop Anthropologyis an exhibition of multimedia artist Eric Metcalfe's oeuvre, spanning over sixty years, in celebration of the artist's honorary doctorate from UVic (UVic DFA 2021, BFA1970).

Qw’an Qw’anakwal - To Come Together

Qw'an Qw'anakwal - To Come Togetheris the 10th anniversary celebration of the Visiting Artist Program hosted by the Department of Anthropology at the University of Victoria featuring newworks by the participating artists.

Ungasittuq - Something that is Far Away

A project by Barry Pottle. Ungasittuqis an exploration of distance, space, acceptance and pushing boundaries.