University Systems help centre

Sharing calendar information

To provide users with the ability to view your calendar information you can share your calendar with specific permissions that ensure the privacy of your meetings, and if selected, allow others to edit items on your calendar and schedule meetings on your behalf.

Unlike Oracle Calendar, Exchange users may not open another user's calendar unless they have been given explicit permissions to do so. This does not mean you can't schedule a meeting with other users of Exchange. You can still view Free/Busy information when creating a new Meeting Request.

Outlook provides two distinct ways to share your calendar and allow editor level access to your calendar. The other method, Calendar Delegation, is discussed at length on the Calendar Delegation section of this site.

The difference between delegating a calendar and sharing it

At first glance the Share My Calendar link on the calendar's task pad and the Delegation Wizard (available through Tools -> Options) achieve the same result of sharing calendar information and allowing others to edit items in your calendar.

However, the difference is more than in name. When you delegate a calendar you allow someone else to fully manage your calendar on your behalf. You may even elect to never be informed of any new meeting requests and updates. When Sharing your calendar with editor permissions you allow someone to create new meetings on your behalf and make changes to your calendar on your behalf, but, that person will not receive any meeting related emails. Any updates, cancellation, requests and other message based calendar items will not be received by this person.

Learn more:

Outlook

Entourage