University Systems help centre

Share calendar: Outlook 2011 for Mac

To provide others with the ability to view your calendar, you can share your calendar with specific people. If desired, you can also allow others to edit items on your calendar and schedule meetings on your behalf.

Delegating a calendar versus sharing one

  • When you delegate a calendar, you allow someone else to fully manage your calendar on your behalf. See Delegate access: Outlook 2011 for more information.
  • When you share a calendar with Editor permissions, you allow someone to create new meetings and make changes to your calendar on your behalf, but this person will not receive any meeting-related emails. Any updates, cancellations, requests, or other calendar-related messages will not be received by this person.

Sharing a calendar

  1. In your Outlook calendar folder, click on the File menu and select Folder > Permissions....



  2. Click on the Permissions tab and then select Add User. Type a full or partial name or NetLink ID in the search field and click Find.



  3. You will see that the name has been added to your list of users. Click to highlight the user, then use the pull-down menu beside Permissions Level to choose the appropriate level of permission for that user.



    Typical permissions are Reviewer, Author, or Editor. Here are permission level descriptions:
    • Owner: create, read, modify, and delete all items and files, as well as create subfolders. As the folder owner, you can change the permission level that other people have for the folder.
    • Publishing Editor: create, read, modify, and delete all items and files as well as create subfolders.
    • Editor: create, read, modify, and delete all items and files.
    • Publishing Author: create and read items and files, create subfolders, and modify and delete items and files that you create.
    • Author: create an read items and files as well as modify and delete items and files that you create.
    • Contributor: create items and files only; the contents of the folder do not appear.
    • Reviewer: read items and files only.
  4. Once you have modified the permissions for you calendar, click OK.