ECU Policy Case Competition 2017

Congratulations to the ECU for running its inaugural policy case competition earlier this month. And congratulations to the winning team of Amy Hill, Mackenzie Cumberland, and Maxwell Nicholson (pictured below).

The policy case asked: How can the federal government best compensate the 'losers' from free trade? The guest judges were Gary Lunn, PC (former Federal Minister of Natural Resources and Sport; UVic Law grad 1993) & David Anderson, PC (former Minister of the Environment). Also on the judging panel were our own Drs. Rob Gillezeau and Linda Welling.

The five competing teams were:

Team 1: Adam McKenna, Emma Kinakin, & Juan Pablo Mendez (Second place)

Team 2: Ben Lukenchuk, Kate Fairley, Caleb Perry, & Alicia Armstrong

Team 3: Maxwell Nicholson, Amy Hill, & Mackenzie Cumberland (First place)

Team 4: Brett Hurley & Nick Mann (Third place)

Team 5: Sarah Ing & Amrit Hayer

Thanks to all who participated. It was a great event with all of the teams doing very impressive work! We look forward to next year's competition.

The winning team stands alongside the judges
The winning team stands alongside the judges
All the teams stand together
All the teams who participated stand together