Faculty awards and fellowships

Faculty of Humanities Excellence Awards

In 2018, Associate Professor Charlotte Schallié, from Germanic and Slavic Studies, won the faculty's Teaching Excellence Award; Linguistics Professor Alex D'Arcy received the faculty's Research Excellence Award; and Blair Taylor was honoured with the Staff Excellence Award.

Associate Professor of English Erin Kelly won the 2019 President's Extraordinary Service Award for collaboration for her role as adviser of the Academic Writing Requirement.

English professor Alison Chapman received the Humanities' 2017 Research Excellence Award for her international reputation and exemplary research in Victorian and women’s literature.

Georgia Sitara received the Humanities' 2017 Teaching Excellence Award for her inspiring and dedicated teaching.

The Faculty of Humanities offers a variety of awards and fellowships for faculty and staff:

Humanities Faculty Fellowship

The Faculty of Humanities invites applications for one fellowship to aid in the completion of a major research project during the academic year, commencing 1 July or 1 January. For the duration of the fellowship (six months), a maximum of 3.0 units of release time from teaching responsibilities will be arranged. Preference will be given to an applicant whose project will contribute significantly to their promotion to associate or full professor, and who has no other source of teaching release. Call for applications Deadline: September 30

Engaged Scholar Award

One award will be given to the scholar who has, in the past year, best exemplified this mission to use Humanities knowledge to effect social change. One award will be presented each year. Any instructor can be nominated in any given year with no limit on the number of nominations or areas represented by the nominees. The recipient will be recognized in the fall welcome ceremony, and have their name inscribed on a commemorative plaque. For additional details, please see the awards notice.

Deadline (extended): August 7

Scottish Studies Faculty Fellowship

The advisory committee to the associate dean research of humanities invites applications for the Hugh Campbell and Marion Alice Small Faculty Fellowship in Scottish Studies. Applications from all current regular faculty members in the Faculty of Humanities are welcome. The term of the fellowship will be three years. In recognition of service to the faculty in fulfilling the conditions listed below, the fellowship will carry in each year a 1.5 unit course release from teaching, plus a stipend of $3,000 per year. For additional details, please see the awards notice. Deadline: November 28

Humanities Award for Teaching Excellence

The award has been established to recognize and encourage excellence in teaching in the Faculty of Humanities. One award is presented annually to a nominee from the faculty. The teaching excellence award selection committee will evaluate all submissions and select the person to be recognized. The award includes recognition at convocation, $500 towards professional development, and permanent inscription on wall plaque in the general office of the Dean of Humanities. For further details see the nomination form. Deadline (extended): Aug. 7

Humanities Award for Research Excellence

The award recognizes demonstrated excellence in research during the five academic years (1 Jan-31 Dec) preceding the deadline for nominations. The award is given on the basis of innovative/original work and consists of $500 to be used for research purposes. All faculty with regular appointments in the Faculties of Humanities at the University of Victoria that continue through December are eligible. The nominee should have at least three years of research experience at the University of Victoria. Previous winners are not eligible for re-nomination. For further details or to nominate someone please read the nomination form. Deadline (extended): Aug. 7

Annual Award for Staff Excellence

This award recognizes demonstrated excellence in the performance of the administrative duties in the Faculty of Humanities. Nominees must be CUPE 951 or PEA employees. For additional details, see the award notice. Deadline (extended): Aug. 7