Program list & descriptions

Exercise Science, Physical and Health Education ( Masters )

Within the Faculty of Education, our mission is to advance knowledge and to prepare professionals in the area of physical activity and health through teaching, research and service. 

ENTRANCE REQUIREMENTS

Prerequisite Minimum standing
BA, BSc, BEd B in physical education or related area

Applicants must also meet the general admission requirements for the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

APPLICATION DEADLINES

Entry point Domestic students International students
July/September January 15 January 15

July (MEd in Coaching Studies)

May 31 May 31

EXAMS AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS

Program advisers

Department directory

Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail
Director Frederick Bell 250-721-8382 MCK 122 fbell@uvic.ca
EPHE General Enquiries askephe@uvic.ca
EPHE FAX 250-721-6601
EPHE Advising Officer Brad Temple 250-721-6554 MCK 115 epheadv@uvic.ca
EPHE Receptionist Bev Greenhough 250-721-8373 MCK 120 epherecep@uvic.ca
EPHE Administrative Officer Lori Cretney 250-721-8374 MCK 123 epheao@uvic.ca
EPHE Graduate Secretary Rebecca Zammit 250-721-6682 MCK 120 rzammit@uvic.ca
EPHE Co-op Coordinator Nancy Reed 250-472-4690 MCK 113 nbreed@uvic.ca
EPHE Co-op Secretary Lindsay Cerilli 250-721-8390 MCK 112 ephecoop@uvic.ca
EPHE Co-op FAX 250-472-4944

EPHE Program Coordinators:

BSc Kinesiology Sandra Hundza 250-721-8387 MCK 134 shundza@uvic.ca
BEd Secondary Physical Education Sandra Gibbons 250-721-8383 MCK 131 sgibbons@uvic.ca
BA Recreation & Health Education Douglas Nichols 250-721-8376 MCK 130 dnichols@uvic.ca
EPHE Graduate Programs Viviene Temple 250-721-7846 MCK 133 vtemple@uvic.ca

Co-operative education opportunities

What is co-op?

Co-operative education (co-op) is a learning strategy that lets you:

  • alternate your academic studies with paid, relevant work experience in your field of study
  • enrich your academic studies by drawing on practical, real-world experience from your work terms
  • develop competencies to excel in the workplace
  • potentially pursue work terms related to your graduate research or project
Can you do co-op?

Graduate co-op may be available to students who are pursuing thesis and non-thesis (or professional) degrees. Participation is optional, and admission is determined after consultation with your graduate adviser and department. Contact the co-op program in your degree area for details, or email coopinfo@uvic.ca.

Note: Co-op is not open to one-year graduate degrees, graduate certificates and diplomas, and non-degree graduate students.

What other career development support does UVic offer?

UVic Co-op and Career can support you through every stage of your career development, through:

Looking for work?

Apply for all types of job opportunities at learninginmotion.uvic.ca.


Professional development
Three Minute Thesis (3MT)
Graduate Students' Society

Program information