Program list & descriptions

Business Administration ( Masters )

The Faculty of Business, also known as the Peter B. Gustavson School of Business, provides a commitment to business sustainability, and underlies our three areas of MBA specialization: entrepreneurship, service management and international business.

Entrance requirements

Prerequisite Minimum standing
BA, BSc GPA of B or better on last two years of undergraduate degree

Applicants must also meet the general admission requirements for the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Application deadlines

Entry point Domestic students International students
August
April 30 March 31

Exams and other requirements

  • Graduate Management Admissions Test (GMAT) score
  • Two letters of reference
  • Resume
  • Two essays
  • For details, please consult the Business website

Program advisers

  • Mr. Ian Robertson, MBA program associate director, grad advisor - mbadira@uvic.ca or 250-721-6403
  • Ms. Catrina Jones, MBA program secretary - mbasec@uvic.ca or 250-721-6058
  • Ms. Wendy Mah, PhD program manager - busiphd@uvic.ca or 250-721-6060
  • Mr. John Oldale, MGB graduate adviser - joldale@uvic.ca or 250-721-6433
  • Ms. Naoko Iida, MGB and PhD program secretary - gillasst@uvic.ca or 250- 472-4140
  • Ms. Alyssa Cuthbert, program assistant - mgbasst@uvic.ca or 250-853-3746
  • MBA programs reception - mba@uvic.ca 250-721-6075

Department directory

Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail

Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

Office of the Dean

Dean Saul Klein 250-721-6422 BEC 254 bizdean@uvic.ca
Associate Dean, Programs David McCutcheon 250-721-6426 BEC 250 dmccutch@uvic.ca
Associate Dean, Faculty Renewal Mark Colgate 250-853-3873 BEC 446 colgate@uvic.ca
Assistant Dean, External Relations Patricia Elemans 250-472-4447 BEC 234 pelemans@uvic.ca
Director, Administration & Finance Kevan Gorham 250-472-4280 BEC 254c kgorham@uvic.ca
Research & Special Projects Coordinator Sue Bengtson 250-853-3298 BEC 148 suebeng@uvic.ca
Academic Projects Officer Shannon Perdigao 250-721-8077 BEC 254 shannonp@uvic.ca
Finance Officer Erin Kilpatrick 250-721-6110 BEC 254 finances@uvic.ca
Secretary to the Dean Sandra Brazeau 250-721-6422 BEC 254 sbrazeau@uvic.ca
Secretary to the Associate Dean, Programs & Faculty Support Leslie MacDonald 250-853-3537 BEC 254 facsupp@uvic.ca
Secretary to the Associate Dean, Faculty Renewal & Faculty Support Jake Ganzeveld 250-721-6068 BEC 254 gustavson@uvic.ca
Faculty Support Sheryl Zornes 250-472-5647 BEC 254 GSBfacultysupport@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-6613

Accreditation

Accreditation Officer Shari Wierenga BEC 254 accredit@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-6067

Executive Programs

Director, Executive Programs Administration Charmaine Stack 250-472-4446 TEF 258 execprog@uvic.ca
Associate Director, Domestic, Executive Programs Carissa Dyck 250-472-4138 TEF 252 carissadyck@uvic.ca
Associate Director, International and Indigenous, Executive Programs Nicole Wallace 250-721-7039 TEF 245 nicolew1@uvic.ca
Account Executive Eddie Isted 250-721-6429 TEF 252 epcoord@uvic.ca
International Projects Coordinator Maggie (Yue) Li 250-721-7081 TEF 256 yueli@uvic.ca
Client Service Specialist Laurel McLeod 250-721-8793 TEF 245 epadvice@uvic.ca
Client Service Specialist Helena (Huan Ran) Zhang 250-472-4448 TEF 248 hrzhang@uvic.ca
Senior Summer Programs Coordinator Kirstin Leary 250-472-5180 TEF 256 knleary@uvic.ca
Clerk Dina Ventura 250-853-3611 TEF 245 execsup@uvic.ca
FAX 250-472-4497

External Relations & Development

Assistant Dean, External Relations Patricia Elemans 250-472-4447 BEC 234 pelemans@uvic.ca
Associate Director, External Relations Krista Boehnert 250-721-6630 BEC 138 boehnert@uvic.ca
Development Officer Amanda Taylor 250-472-4279 BEC 142 bizdev@uvic.ca
Alumni Annual Giving Officer Erica Youds 250-721-6411 BEC 142 bizalum@uvic.ca
Events Manager Clare Malcolmson 250-721-8647 BEC 148 bizevents@uvic.ca
Corporate Relationship Manager Alberta Sashie Steenstra 587-284-0288 Calgary AB ssteenst@uvic.ca
Digital Media Officer Gaelle Madevon 250-661-3294 BEC 146 bizwiz@uvic.ca
Content Curator Sasha Milam 250-472-5108 BEC 140 bizedit@uvic.ca
External Relations Secretary Pam Bartilucci 250-721-6406 BEC 236 pbartilu@uvic.ca
FAX 250-853-3828

Graduate Programs

Graduate Recruitment Officer Sandy Huang 250-853-3747 BEC 289B huangyt@uvic.ca

Graduate Programs (MBA)

General Office 250-721-6075 BEC 289 mba@uvic.ca
MBA Director David Dunne 250-853-5653 BEC 246 dldunne@uvic.ca
MBA Associate Director Ian Robertson 250-721-6403 BEC 290 mbadira@uvic.ca
MBA Co-op Coordinator Brad Erikson 250-721-6083 BEC 289A berikson@uvic.ca
MBA Consulting Projects Director John Oldale 250-721-6433 BEC 272 joldale@uvic.ca
MBA Graduate Admissions Officer Amy Weinberg 250-721-6167 BEC 289 gill.admissions@uvic.ca
MBA Data Analysis and Program Logistics Coordinator Leah Wilcock 250-472-5991 BEC 289C wilcockl@uvic.ca
MBA Evening/Weekend Program Coordinator Tina Belcourt 250-472-5648 BEC 289C mba.wkndcoordinator@uvic.ca
MBA Secretary Catrina Jones 250-721-6058 BEC 289 mbasec@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-7066

Graduate Programs (MGB)

MGB Director Ignace Ng 250-721-6073 BEC 432 ing@uvic.ca
MGB Associate Director John Oldale 250-721-6433 BEC 272 joldale@uvic.ca
MGB Graduate Admissions Officer Amy Weinberg 250-721-6167 BEC 289 gill.admissions@uvic.ca
MGB Program Assistant Alyssa Cuthbert 250-853-3746 BEC 117B mgbasst@uvic.ca
MGB Secretary Naoko Iida 250-853-3746 BEC 289 gillasst@uvic.ca

Doctoral Programs (PhD)

PhD Director Carmen Galang 250-721-6111 BEC 218 cgalang@uvic.ca
PhD Program Manager & Special Projects Wendy Mah 250-721-6060 BEC 258 wendymah@uvic.ca
PhD Secretary Naoko Iida 250-853-3746 BEC 289 gillasst@uvic.ca

International Programs Office (IP)

IP Director Elango Elangovan 250-721-6405 BEC 224 arelango@uvic.ca
IP Associate Director Brian Leacock 250-721-6434 BEC 270 bleacock@uvic.ca
IP Manager Jane Collins 250-721-6057 BEC 268 jane@uvic.ca
IP Business Development Officer TJ Babey 250-742-5170 BEC 270 tjbabey@uvic.ca
IP International Student Recruiter - China Specialist Allen Sun 250-472-4506 BEC 280 sunwen@uvic.ca
IP Exchange Student Advisor Radhika Nair 250-721-6061 BEC 278 exchange@uvic.ca
IP International Student Advisor Christina Hernandez 250-853-3748 BEC 278 GSBwelcome@uvic.ca
IP Assistant Giordi Giacomelli 250-721-6419 BEC 278 ipoffice@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-6457

Undergraduate Programs (BCom)

General Office 250-472-4728 BEC 283 bcom@uvic.ca
BCom Academic Director Margaret Klatt 250-721-6425 BEC 274 mklatt@uvic.ca
BCom Director of Administration Sheryl Karras 250-721-6056 BEC 282 slkarras@uvic.ca
BCom Manager Advising, Admissions and Operations Kate Donovan 250-472-4170 BEC 284 advisor@uvic.ca
BCom Experiential Learning Manager Jennifer Gill 250-853-3750 BEC 272 jrgill@uvic.ca
BCom Experiential Learning Officer Melissa Doyle 250-853-3750 BEC 272 doylem@uvic.ca
BCom Admissions/Advising Officer Audrey Audebert 250-721-6432 BEC 238 audreya@uvic.ca
BCom Admissions/Advising Officer John Tedham 250-721-6416 BEC 283 bcom.admissions@uvic.ca
BCom Advisor Laurelle Inouye 250-472-4338 BEC 284 advisor@uvic.ca
BCom Secretary Brenda Stajduhar 250-472-4855 BEC 283 bcomsec@uvic.ca
BCom Program Assistant Stacey Gavora 250-472-4855 BEC 283 bcomasst@uvic.ca
BCom Clerk Rachelle Chamberlain 250-472-4488 BEC 283 bssclerk@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-7066

Business Career Office

Career Educator Beverly Stevens 250-721-6087 BEC 107 bco@uvic.ca
Employment Assistant Melissa Hamer 250-472-4441 BEC 112 bccc@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-6605

Business Co-op Office

Acting Manager Gloria Darroch 250-721-6065 BEC 116 darrochg@uvic.ca
Co-op Employment Development Officer Shara Grice 250-472-4449 BEC 114 sharag@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator, MBA Brad Erikson 250-721-6083 BEC 289A berikson@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator Bert Klatt 250-721-6066 BEC 126 bklatt@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator Marguerite Casey-Wolnicki 250-853-3202 BEC 128 mcasey@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator Alma Osorio 250-472-4566 BEC 124 almao@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator Sarah McQuillan 250-721-6410 BEC 130 sarahmcq@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator Vivian Leik 250-721-6657 BEC 132 vl@uvic.ca
Co-op Coordinator Alissa Wakeman 250-721-6657 BEC 122 awakeman@uvic.ca
Co-op Placement Coordinator Samantha Toms 250-721-6413 BEC 118 stoms@uvic.ca
Co-op Placement Coordinator Cathy Burrage 250-721-6496 BEC 120 cburrage@uvic.ca
Co-op Assistant Yumi Morishima 250-721-6054 BEC 112 yumim@uvic.ca
Co-op Assistant Melissa Hamer 250-472-4441 BEC 112 bccc@uvic.ca
Co-op Assistant Janice Bentley 250-721-6063 BEC 112 busicoop@uvic.ca
FAX 250-721-6605

Centre for Social and Sustainable Innovation (CSSI)

Director Monika Winn 250-721-6071 BEC 472 miwinn@uvic.ca
Associate Director Heather Ranson 250-721-6112 BEC 208 hranson@uvic.ca
CSSI Coordinator Rachel Goldsworthy 250-853-3721 BEC 150 cssi@uvic.ca

Innovation Centre for Entrepreneurs (ICE)

ICE Director Brock Smith 250-721-6070 BEC 232 smithb@uvic.ca
General ICE Enquiries 250-721-8556 SED 142 iceteam@uvic.ca

National Consortium for Indigenous Economic Development (NCIED)

NCIED Administrative Coordinator Vacant ncied@uvic.ca

Entrepreneurship Specialization

Champion Brock Smith 250-721-6070 BEC 232 smithb@uvic.ca

International Specialization

Champion Wade Danis 250-853-3872 BEC 230 wdanis@uvic.ca

Research

Director Roy Suddaby 250-721-6401 BEC 246 rsuddaby@uvic.ca

Service Management Specialization

Champion Stephen Tax 250-721-6417 BEC 228 stax@uvic.ca

Sustainability

Champion Monika Winn 250-721-6071 BEC 472 miwinn@uvic.ca

Co-operative education opportunities

Can you do co-op?

Graduate co-op is mandatory in this academic program if you have less than three years full-time relevant (or equivalent) work experience. You’ll complete co-op work terms as part of your program requirements. Contact the Business Co-op Program for details.

What is co-op?

Co-operative education (co-op) is a learning strategy that lets you:

  • alternate your academic studies with paid, relevant work experience in your field of study
  • enrich your academic studies by drawing on practical, real-world experience from your work terms
  • develop competencies to excel in the workplace
  • potentially pursue work terms related to your graduate research or project
What other career development support does UVic offer?

UVic Co-op and Career can support you through every stage of your career development, through:

Looking for work?

Apply for all types of job opportunities at learninginmotion.uvic.ca.

Apply for admission

Program information


Professional development
Three Minute Thesis (3MT)
Graduate Students' Society

Program information