Participating faculty members

The faculty listed below participate in Social Justice Studies through teaching core or elective courses in the program.

Faculty of Human and Social Development

Name Area Contact
Nancy Clark
Assistant Professor and SJS Director
Immigrant and refugee mental health, human rights, equity, health and social care. nancyclark@uvic.ca
250-472-4703

Child and youth care

Name Area Contact
Sandrina de Finney
Associate Professor
Participatory and change-centred practice and research, Indigenous research, girlhood studies sdefinn@uvic.ca
250-721-6372
Veronica Pacini-Ketchabaw
Adjunct Professor
Children and racialization, participatory action research, practices and racialization vpacinik@uvic.ca
250-721-6478
Jin-Sun Yoon
Teaching Professor
Anti-racism education, cross-cultural counselling, ethnic identity development jsyoon@uvic.ca
250-721-6471

Gender studies

Name Area Contact
Thea Cacchioni
Associate Professor
Medicalization, the politics of Big Pharma, gender health inequalities tcacchio@uvic.ca
250-721-6261
Annalee Lepp
Associate Professor, Chair and Undergraduate Advisor
Gender and legal history; migration, sex work, and human trafficking alepp@uvic.ca
250-721-6157
Laura Parisi
Associate Professor
Human rights, international development, international political economy and law, transactional activism, methodologies lparisi@uvic.ca
250-472-4277

Georgia Sitara
Assistant Teaching Professor, History and Gender Studies

Animal rights, Feminist Ethics, Social Justice, Canadian history, Race, racism and racialization, sexuality, children and youth gsitara@uvic.ca
250-721-6158
Heather Tapley
Associate Professor
Queer theory, feminist theory and monster theory htapley@uvic.ca
250-721-7293

History

Name Area Contact
Lynne Marks
Associate Professor
Gender history, history of social welfare, history of religion, history of second wave feminism, of welfare rights activism and of immigrant women's activism lsmarks@uvic.ca
250-721-7392
Andrea McKenzie
Associate Professor
17/18th century English legal, social and cultural history, including crime, felony and treason trials and executions and early modern criminal literature mckenzie@uvic.ca
250-721-7403
Christine O'Bonsawin
Associate Professor (history and Indigenous studies)
Indigenous Studies, race and sport, sport and Olympic history cobonsaw@uvic.ca
250-853-3807
Elizabeth Vibert
Associate Professor
Food sovereignty/security; gender, work, and poverty; history of Southern Africa evibert@uvic.ca
250-721-7286

Law

Name Area Contact
Patricia Cochrane
Assistant Professor
Constitutional law, political and legal theory, law of evidence, human rights, social welfare law pcochran@uvic.ca
250-721-8183
Freya Kodar
Associate Dean
Pension (public and private), consumer law and policy, debt and credit regulation, income security, care work, disability and the law law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca
250-721-8190
Andrew Newcombe
Associate Professor
Consumer law, trade and investment law (free trade agreements etc), international law, commercial law newcombe@uvic.ca
250-721-8161
Tim Richards
Assistant Teaching Professor
Human rights law, poverty and social policy, legal skills education trichard@uvic.ca
250-721-8185

Political science

Name Area Contact
Janni Aragon
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Gender and politics, feminist theories and methodologies, pedagogy, and technology jaragon@uvic.ca 
Marlea Clarke
Associate Professor
Development, political economy of development, African clothing industry and 'decent work', precarious employment, gender and politics mjclarke@uvic.ca
250-721-6487
Rita Dhamoon
Assistant Professor
Critical race politicism feminist and gender politics, critiques of multiculturalism, the politics of difference dhamoonr@uvic.ca
250-721-6492
Avigail Eisenberg
Professor and Chair
Democratic theory and group rights avigaile@uvic.ca
250-721-7499
Matt James
Associate Professor
Reparations, political apologies, historical justice, collective memory, transitional justice, Canadian politics, social movements, constitutionalism mattjame@uvic.ca
250-721-6489
Jamie Lawson
Associate Professor, Director, Human Dimensions of Climate Change
Environmental justice, land and resource politics, critical political economy lawsonj@uvic.ca
250-721-7496
Feng Xu
Associate Professor
Chinese politics, comparative politics (East Asia); gender politics (especially East Asia); migration and citizenship; national and diaspora identities; policy ideas, translation theory and global hegemony fengxu@uvic.ca
250-472-4263

Sociology

Name Area Contact
Bill Carroll
Professor and Co-director of the Corporate Mapping Project
Social inequality, social movements, political ecology, critical methods and theory wcarroll@uvic.ca
250-721-7573
Steve Garlick
Chair, Sociology, Associate Professor, 
Sociology of gender and sexuality, critical social theory sgarlick@uvic.ca
250-721-8600
Martha McMahon
Associate Professor
Human dimensions of climate change, feminism theory, environment and environmental justice, food and agriculture, ecological feminism mcmahon@uvic.ca
250-721-6351
Peyman Vahabzadeh
Associate Professor
Social movements, social theory, hegemony, phenomenology of justice peymanv@uvic.ca
250-721-6353

Other units

The following participating faculty are members of departments or programs that have two or less associated members with the Social Justice Studies Program.

Name Area Contact

Darlene Clover
Professor and Graduate Advisor
Educational Psychology and Leadership Studies

Feminist pedagogy, women in leadership, community arts and adult education, museums and art galleries

clover@uvic.ca
250-721-7816

Catherine McGregor
Associate Professor
Educational Psychology and Leadership Studies, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs and Research, Education

Civic subjectivity and ally practices, distributed and social justice leadership, gender and leadership

cmcgreg@uvic.ca
250-721-7823

Richard Pickard
Assistant Teaching Professor
English

Teaches courses in Environmental Humanities

rpickard@uvic.ca
250-721-6636

James Rowe
Associate Professor
Environmental Studies

Social movement politics, mindfulness and social change, micropolitics, critical theory, root causes of injustice

jkrowe@uvic.ca
250-853-3574

Karena Shaw
Associate Professor, Environmental Studies 

Political ecology, local/global environmental governance, political theory, indigenous politics, sustainable energy systems

shawk@uvic.ca
250-472-5070

Moussa Magassa
Equity and Human Rights

Human rights, diversity education, immigration and refugee studies, cross-cultural and intercultural communication, conflict resolution, global leadership in working in complex global systems

mmagassa@uvic.ca
250-472-4114

Helga Thorson
Associate Professor and Chair
Germanic and Slavic Studies

Modernist German and Austrian literature, gender studies, history of medicine, and Holocaust studies

helgat@uvic.ca
250-721-7320

Michael J. Prince
Human and Social Development, Lansdowne Professor of Social Policy

Canadian social policy, disability movement, Canadian state/Aboriginal government relations

mprince@uvic.ca
250-721-8043

Carmen Rodriguez de France
Assistant Professor
Indigenous Education, Curriculum and Instruction

Indigenous epistemologies and pedagogy; Indigenous Education; Indigenous Research Methods, The role of language in knowledge creation

mdcr@uvic.ca
250-721-8633

Cindy Holder
Associate Professor
Philosophy

Human rights, international law, cultural rights and rights to land

clholder@uvic.ca
250-721-7516

Colin Macleod
Professor and Chair
Philosophy

Distributive justice, equality, children's rights

philchr@uvic.ca
250-721-7521

Budd Hall
Adjunct Professor, School of Public Administration, Human an Social Development

Community-based research, international community development, community-university engagement, social movements

bhall@uvic.ca
250-721-8062

Martin Adam
Associate Professor, Pacific and Asian Studies and 
Religion in Culture and Society

Socially engaged Buddhism; Gandhi; Ethics

mtaam@uvic.ca
250-721-8980

Catherine Richardson
Adjunct Associate Professor
Social Work

Indigenous resistance, decolonizing approaches to social work, response-based practice

cathyr@uvic.ca
250-472-4632

Donna Jeffrey
Associate Professor
Social Work

Anti-racist and critical pedagogies, social work education and professional identity, knowledge production and modes of inquiry

donnaj@uvic.ca
250-721-6228

Helga Kristin Hallgrimsdottir Dean, Human and Social Development, Professor, Public dministration

Social inequality, social movements, labour movements, work and vulnerable populations

hknenedi@uvic.ca 

250-472-4723