Skip to main content

The Fraser Building (FRA) contains the Faculty of Law and the Diana M. Priestly Law Library.

It also contains a number of classrooms, seminar rooms and a moot court.

Rick Hansen Foundation Accessibility Certification™ report for FRA.



The Fraser building was named in honour of Murray and Anne Fraser.

Murray Fraser (1937-1997) was the University of Victoria's (UVic) founding law dean. He served as vice-president academic from 1983 to 1988.

Anne Fraser is a nationally syndicated CBC radio commentator who spearheaded efforts to preserve Halifax's historic waterfront buildings. She developed innovative continuing studies courses at UVic.

Diana Priestly (1922-1997) was one of the first appointees to the UVic Faculty of Law. She worked as a professor and founding librarian and established the criteria for the law library.

This building was formerly known as the Begbie Building (BGB).