van den Driessche and Higham win 2022 Hans Schneider Prize

ILAS (International Linear Algebra Society) has announced that Pauline van den Driessche (UVic) and Nick Higham (University of Manchester, UK) are to receive the 2022 Hans Schneider Prize.

The Hans Schneider Prize in Linear Algebra is awarded by ILAS for research, contributions, and achievements at the highest level of Linear Algebra. This prize may be awarded for an outstanding scientific achievement or for lifetime contribution.

Pauline van den Driessche is cited for her influential contributions in combinatorial matrix theory, in mathematical biology and the interaction between these two areas.

She will present her lecture at the 24th ILAS Conference in Galway, Ireland, June 20-24, 2022

Nick Higham is cited for his fundamental contributions in the analysis of a wide range of numerical linear algebra problems and matrix functions.

He will present his lecture at the 25th ILAS Conference in Madrid, Spain, June 5-9, 2023.