Research excellence

Colin Goldblatt, 2017 Winner of the Faculty of Science Award for Research Excellence
Colin Goldblatt, 2016-2017 Winner of the Faculty of Science Award for Research Excellence (Photo Credit: Ramses D'Souza)

Science recognizes the quality and impact of our faculty members by annually by presenting an Award for Research Excellence.

2016-17 Award for Research Excellence

Colin Goldblatt, Earth and Ocean Sciences

Colin came to UVic in 2011 after postdocs at NASA Ames Research Center and the University of Washington.  He received a PhD in 2008 at the University of East Anglia. 

Colin is an exciting young researcher who is making his presence felt internationally.  A citation from an international referee says:

“Colin has worked on some of the most high-profile questions in Earth and planetary climate, including the rise of oxygen and its consequences, the long-term carbon cycle, global glaciation on the Early Earth, and the runaway greenhouse…. His work shows a flair for obtaining deep insights from idealized models which can be thoroughly understood, which is exactly what the subject demands but an all-too-rare skill. “

The broad span of his work has led to publications in leading international journals across disciplines ranging from geology and climate to planetary science.  Colin is poised to be a future leader as exciting new measurements of planetary atmospheres in our solar system and of “exoplanets” come on-line.  His focus on basic models of how atmospheres form and interact will be crucial to understanding these measurements, and even in deducing if planets in our galaxy may harbour life. 

Previous winners

Previous winners
2015/2016 Julia Baum (Biology)
2014/2015 Boualem Khouider (Mathematics & Statistics)
2013/2014 Rogerio de Sousa (Physics & Astronomy)
2012/2013 Pavel Kovtun (Physics and Astronomy)
2011/2012 Marty Boulanger (Biochemistry and Microbiology)
2010/2011 Jody Klymak (School of Earth and Ocean Sciences/Physics and Astronomy)
2009/2010 Adam Monahan (School of Earth and Ocean Sciences) and Alexandre Brolo (Chemistry)
2008/2009 Sara Ellison (Physics and Astronomy)
2007/2008 Byoung-Chul Choi (Physics and Astronomy)
2006/2007 Alisdair Boraston (Biochemistry and Microbiology)
2005/2006 Robert Kowalewski (Physics and Astronomy)
2004/2005 Robin Hicks (Chemistry)
2003/2004 Arif Babul (Physics and Astronomy)
2002/2003 Julio Navarro (Physics and Astronomy)
2001/2002 Cornelia Bohne (Chemistry)
2000/2001 Brad Anholt (Biology)