Faculty

  Faculty member Contact Interests
David Berg David         Berg
Associate Professor
 
Research  Page
Elliott 314
250-721-7161 
djberg@uvic.ca
F-elements, organometallic & coordination chemistry, synthesis, medical and catalytic applications
image

Cornelia      Bohne
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 246
250-721-7151 bohne@uvic.ca
(alternate: cornelia.bohne@gmail.com)
 
Supramolecular dynamics, kinetics, host-guest, gels, photophysics, photochromism, asphaltene, soft materials
Alex Brolo

Alexandre   Brolo
Professor and Acting 
Department Chair
   
Research Page

Elliott 317
250-721-7167
agbrolo@uvic.ca
chemchair@uvic.ca

Surface spectroscopy, Raman, photovoltaics, bioanalytical, cancer research, single-molecule detection
image

Heather Buckley Adjunct Assistant Professor 

Research Page  

ECS 418                      250-472-5879        hbuckley@uvic.ca

Green chemistry, molecular sensors for water
contaminants, safer prevention of fouling
Neil Burford

Neil     Burford
Professor and Acting Assoc
Dean Academic

Research Page
Elliott 166
250-721-7062
nburford@uvic.ca 
Chemistry of phosphorus, arsenic, antimony & bismuth: new synthetic and spectroscopic studies
 Erin Chernick

Erin Chernick Assistant Professor

Research Page

Elliott 250

erinchernick@uvic.ca

 

 

Synthesis of organic radicals, organic dyes, and interesting charge-transfer species

image

Katherine Elvira  Assistant Professor      CRC II       

Research Page

Elliott 306
250-721-7165 kelvira@uvic.ca
Microfluidics, artificial cells, droplets, drug
discovery, patient analytics, healthcare, simulation
image Chris Gill
Adjunct Assoc. Professor

Research Page
AERL, VIU
250-753-3252
chris.gill@viu.ca
Environmental and analytical chemistry, mass spectrometry
David Harrington

David Harrington
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 316
250-721-7166
dharr@uvic.ca
Microfluidic & surface electro-chemistry, fuel cell catalysis, impedance spectroscopy        
 image

Robin      Hicks
Professor and
Acting AVP Academic 
Planning

Research Page

Elliott 166
250-721-7062
rhicks@uvic.ca
Coordination chemistry;       redox-active ligands;
stable radicals; functional dyes
Fraser Hof

Fraser          Hof
Professor 
CRC II

Research   Page
Elliott 238
250-721-7193
fhof@uvic.ca

Medicinal chemistry, molecular recognition, synthesis, epigenetic therapies and chemical biology

Dennis Hore

Dennis       Hore
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 318
250-721-7168
dkhore@uvic.ca
Biophysical chemistry, spectroscopy, instrument design and   modelling
 

Violeta     Iosub
Assistant Teaching Professor

Research page

Elliott 315
250-721-7192
viosub@uvic.ca

General, organic and bio-organic chemistry.
Erik Krogh

Erik Krogh
Adjunct Assoc. Professor

Research Page

AERL, VIU
250-753-3245
erik.krogh@viu.ca

Environmental organic chemistry, photochemistry, water quality
David Leitch

David       Leitch
Assistant Professor

Research Page

Elliott 308                     250-472-4547   dcleitch@uvic.ca

Organic synthesis, catalysis, high-throughput experimentation, process chemistry, mechanism

Peter Loock

Peter Loock

Professor and Dean

Research Page
 

Elliott 166                   250-721-7062 hploock@uvic.ca

Spectroscopic instrument design, fiber optics, chemical sensors, cavity-enhanced optics, micro-optical resonators

image

Ian      Manners
Professor
CRC 150

Research Page

Elliott 312
250-472-5966
imanners@uvic.ca

Main group chemistry:  molecular, polymer, and materials synthesis and  functional materials. 

Scott McIndoe

Scott   McIndoe
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 307
250-721-7181
mcindoe@uvic.ca
Catalyst discovery and mechanisms, organometallic chemistry and mass spectrometry
Matthew Moffitt

Matthew Moffitt
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 319
250-721-7162
mmoffitt@uvic.ca

Self-assembly, polymer materials, nanoparticles, quantum dots, drug delivery, and microfluidics

Irina Paci

Irina           Paci
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 309
250-472-4946
ipaci@uvic.ca
Self-assembly on solid surfaces, Monte Carlo and multi-scale methods, materials in external fields
image

Lisa  Rosenberg
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 242
250-721-7173
lisarose@uvic.ca

Homogeneous catalysis in main group chemistry,
mechanistic organometallic and coordination chemistry

 image

Makhsud Saidaminov

Assistant Professor

Research Page

Elliott 244                   250-721-7052 msaidaminov@uvic.ca

 Functional materials, solid-state chemistry, self-assembly, clean energy, perovskites, optoelectronics, solar cells, light emission, photon sensing 

Frank van Veggel

Frank van Veggel
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 234
250-721-7184
fvv@uvic.ca
Nanoparticles and quantum dots for cancer diagnostics
and therapy, quantum computing and spintronics
Peter Wan

Peter          Wan
Professor
 
Research Page

Elliott 310
250-721-8976
pwan@uvic.ca

Organic photochemical reactions, compounds of pharmaceutical interest

Jeremy Wulff

Jeremy     Wulff
Professor
CRC II

Research Page
Elliott 311
250-721-7179
wulff@uvic.ca
Organic synthesis, chemical biology, materials science