Andrew Rowe

Andrew Rowe

Executive Director

Andrew Rowe completed his undergraduate work in mechanical engineering at Royal Military College in 1992 and went on to serve in the Canadian Navy as a Marine Systems Engineering Officer. He has a MASc in fuel cell modeling and a PhD in magnetic cycles. He joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Victoria in 2002 where he teaches and performs research in the areas of energy conversion, thermal design, and energy systems. Dr. Rowe is an editor for Cryogenics, a member of the advisory board for the International Conference on Magnetic Refrigeration, a registered Professional Engineer in the province of British Columbia, and a member of ASHRAE. In 2017, he became IESVic's Executive Director.

Office: EOW 515

Jeremy Riishede

Administrative Coordinator
Jeremy joined the IESVic team in June of 2019.  He worked in a variety of positions at UVic over the previous 13 years, including several research centres. Most recently he was the Program Coordinator for NTCO CREATE, a national student training program based in UVic Physics and Astronomy. 
Jeremy manages the daily operations and finances of the Institute, and contributes to the strategic direction and implementation of its programs and projects.

Office: EOW 108

Pauline Shepherd

Pauline Shepherd

Administrative Assistant

Pauline joined IESVic in 2014 after working for several years at the Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions as a research assistant on the Climates 101 short course. Prior to working for PICS, Pauline lived for 20 years in the UK, working in graphic design as an account manager in both Bristol and London. From 1997 until her return to Canada in 2009 she spent her time as a full-time mum. Before moving to the UK, Pauline graduated from UVic with a double major in History and Sociology.

Office: EOW 108

Jacob Monroe

Research Analyst
Jacob completed his B.Sc. in Environmental Engineering and Ph.D. in Civil Engineering at North Carolina State University in the United States in 2016 and 2020, respectively. His Ph.D. dissertation was on simulating evolution of low-voltage electric grids with distributed energy technology adoption using agent-based modeling techniques. His dissertation was funded by the United States National Science Foundation through the Graduate Research Fellowship Program.

Jacob’s research applies sociotechnical modeling techniques to simulate water and energy networks as complex adaptive systems. His work has developed an array of agent-based modeling frameworks to analyze critical infrastructure protection, ecotourism, solar PV technology diffusion, decentralized water systems, and peer-to-peer energy markets. He is currently a Research Analyst at the Institute and performs energy system modeling and optimization research to analyze electrification and decarbonization pathways for the Canadian economy.

Office: EOW 113

David Scott, Ned Djilali, Sue Walton, Peter Wild, Ged McLean
Past IESVic Directors David Scott, Ned Djilali, Peter Wild, and Ged McLean, with former Administrative Coordinator Sue Walton
Executive Emeritus
Sue Walton

Susan Walton

Administrator, 1992-2019
Susan joined IESVic in 1992 after a year with the Agency for Hydrogen Systems, a BC government initiative promoting hydrogen research. She was responsible for IESVic's day-to-day operations, from managing the budgets to ensuring the office ran smoothly. Susan thoroughly enjoyed her job, especially interacting with students and keeping in touch with alumni. In her spare time she enjoys walking, playing the piano, gardening and spending time with her husband and two Westies at their Nelson Island cabin. She retired from IESVic in 2019. 

Even in retirement, Sue continues to contribute to IESVic through the Sue Walton IESVic Student Enrichment Fund, which is used to support student learning and networking opportunities. For more information or to donate, contact the


Dr. Ged McLean

Director of Strategic Plannning, 2016-2017
Director, 1994-2002

Dr. Peter Wild

Executive Director, 2012-2016
Acting Director, 

Dr. Lawrence Pitt

Associate Director, 2002-2008

Dr. Ned Djilali

Director, 2002-2007
Acting Director,

Dr. Bez Tabarrok

Interim Director, 1997-1999

Dr. David Scott

Founder and Director, 1988-2001 

David earned his B.Sc. and M.Sc. from Queen’s University and his doctorate in mechanical engineering and astronautical sciences from Northwestern University in Chicago. He is Vice-President emeritus of the International Association for Hydrogen Energy. 

David taught at the University of Toronto for 22 years, served as chair of Mechanical Engineering and founded the University’s Institute for Hydrogen Systems. He chaired the Canadian Advisory Group on Hydrogen Opportunities that produced the seminal report, Hydrogen: National Mission for Canada. After moving to the University of Victoria in 1989, David founded the Institute for Integrated Energy Systems.  

For his work in energy systems and hydrogen, many honours have been bestowed on David, among them the internationally prestigious Jules Verne Award, for “outstanding contributions to hydrogen physics, hydrogen energy, sociology and philosophy.”