Contact us

We are currently offering support remotely

Due to the current on-campus restrictions due to the COVID-19 situation, Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI) has shifted from in-person to remote support until further notice.

You can reach our staff using our staff directory or 

We continue to take advice and guidance from governments and health authorities concerning the health and safety of our community and will re-open in-person services as appropriate in accordance with UVic's restart plan.

Location and mailing info

General inquiries:

Phone: 250-721-8571*
Fax: 250-721-6494*

*We are currently working remotely and our phone is not actively being monitored. We ask that you leave us a detailed voicemail or email us and will respond to you as soon as possible.

Mailing address:

Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI)
University of Victoria
PO Box 1700 STN CSC
Victoria BC V8W 2Y2, Canada

Courier or in-person address:

Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI)
University of Victoria
Harry Hickman Building, Room 120
3800 Finnerty Road (Ring Road)
Victoria, BC V8P 5C2, Canada

We offer other services outside of our main administrative office. Due to current pandemic guidelines, these programs are being run remotely. Please see webpages for additional contact information:

Directory listing

Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail

LTSI Division Office

FAX 250-721-6494
Administrative Assistant Flavia Sposato 250-721-8571 HHB 120
Administrative Officer Marian Simmonds 250-472-5076 HHB 120d
Executive Director Laurene Sheilds 250-721-8572 HHB 120g
Assistant to the Executive Director Bo Love 250-472-5765 HHB 120
LTSI Program Coordinator Carolyn Boss 250-472-5624 HHB 120b
CES Systems Support Coordinator Shawn Cure 250-472-4799 HHB 120j
Acting Director, Curriculum Renewal and Strategic Initiatives Viviana Pitton 250-472-5533 HHB 120j
Communications Officer Hannah Rose

Teaching Excellence

Director, Teaching Excellence Cynthia Korpan 250-472-4798 HHB 120k
TAC Coordinator Gerry Gourlay 250-721-7889 HHB 120j

Technology Integrated Learning (TIL)

Director, Technology Integrated Learning Mariel Miller 250-721-8465 LIB 034b
Learning Technology Project Manager Craig Scharien 250-721-7562 LIB 034m
Acting Manager - Ed Tech Support Alex Warrington
Acting Manager - Learning Experience Design Hajime Kataoka 250-721-6123 LIB 034k
Learning Experience Designer - Team Lead Rebecca Edwards 250-472-5747 LIB 034c
Sr Learning Experience Designer Katy Chan 250-721-7842 LIB 034l
Learning Experience Designer Hayley Hewson 250-721-8510 LIB 034c
Learning Experience Designer Kelsey McColgan
Learning Experience Designer Thiago Hinkel
Learning Experience Designer Maj-Britt Marttala
Learning Experience Designer Gayle Palas
Learning Experience Designer Jeff Baxter
Learning Experience Designer Randeep Nota
Learning Experience Designer - Accessibility Melissa Doyle
Learning Experience Designer - Accessibility Kim Ashbourne
Learning Experience Designer - Accessibility Caroline Quan
Ed Tech Support Specialist Kayla Smith 250-721-8749 LIB 034d
Ed Tech Support Specialist Babak Mirshahi
Ed Tech Support Specialist Thomas Riva 250-472-5949 LIB 034e
Ed Tech Support Specialist Dan Rieb
Ed Tech Support Specialist Reese Kingsley
Ed Tech Support Specialist Ruvie Kaviya
Ed Tech Support Specialist Stephanie Eisler 250-721-6203 LIB 034f
Jr Ed Tech Specialist Brianna Bock
Jr Ed Tech Specialist Sparrow de Groot

Student Academic Success

Director, Student Academic Success Shailoo Bedi 250-721-7762 HHB 120e
Centre for Academic Communication Manager Nancy Ami 250-853-3675 LIB 135j
CAC Specialist Tracey El Hajj LIB 135m
English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist Kaveh Tagharobi 250-472-4459 LIB 135k
English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist Emily Arvay 250-472-5706 LIB 135m
English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist Odivi Ghanbari
Learning Strategist Sharon Dias
Learning Strategist John Buxcey
Learning Strategist Alexandr Gavrilov
Manager, Math & Stats Assistance Centre Jane Butterfield DTB A445
Math & Stats Assistance Centre Acting Program Coordinator Josh Manzer DTB A202a

Community-Engaged Learning (CEL)

Community-Engaged Learning Coordinator Rhianna Nagel 250-472-5667 COR B132
CEL Assistant Coordinator Alexandra Haupt
Project Manager Suzanne Jolly

Staff profiles

The Director's Office

Laurene Sheilds

Executive Director, Teaching and Learning Support and Innovation
Office: HHB 120g
Shailoo Bedi

Director, Student Academic Success
Office: Lib 410 & HHB 120e
Eva Baboula

Associate Executive Director
Marian Simmonds

Administrative Officer
Office: HHB 120d
Shawn Curé

CES Systems Support Coordinator
Office: HHB 120j
Bo Love

Administrative Assistant to the Executive Director
Office: HHB 120
Carolyn Boss

Program Coordinator
Office: HHB 120b
Viviana Pitton

International Learning Coordinator
Office: HHB 120j

Teaching Excellence

Cynthia Korpan

Director, Teaching Excellence
Office: HHB 120k
Gerry Gourlay

TA Coordinator
Office: HHB 120

The Centre for Academic Communication (CAC)

Nancy Ami

Manager, the Centre for Academic Communication
Office: LIB 135j
Kaveh Tagharobi

English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist
Office: LIB 135k
Gillian Saunders

English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist
Office: LIB 135i
Madeline Walker

Centre for Academic Communication Coordinator
Office: LIB 135m
Emily Arvay

English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist
Office: LIB 135m

Math & Statistics Assistance Centre (MSAC)

Jane Butterfield

Math & Stats Assistance Centre Manager
LTSI and Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Office: DTB A445
Josh Manzer

Math & Stats Assistance Centre Acting Program Coordinator

Community-Engaged Learning (CEL)

Rhianna Nagel

Community-Engaged Learning Coordinator
Office: Cornett B132