Contact us

Service updates in response to COVID-19

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI) has shifted from in-person to remote support.

Our staff can be reached via the staff directory below or by emailing ltsioffice@uvic.ca.

We continue to take advice and guidance from governments and health authorities concerning the health and safety of our community and will re-open in-person services as appropriate.

Location & mailing info

Mailing address:

Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI)
University of Victoria
PO Box 1700 STN CSC
Victoria BC V8W 2Y2
Canada

Courier or in-person address:

Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI)
University of Victoria
Harry Hickman Building, Room 120
3800 Finnerty Road
(Ring Road)
Victoria, BC V8P 5C2
Canada

General inquiries:

Phone: 250-721-8571
Fax: 250-721-6494


The Centre for Academic Communication
University of Victoria
Library 135J
3800 Finnerty Road
(Ring Road)
Victoria, BC V8P 5C2
Canada

Directory listing

Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail

LTSI Division Office

FAX 250-721-6494
Administrative Assistant Flavia Sposato 250-721-8571 HHB 120 ltsioffice@uvic.ca
Administrative Officer Marian Simmonds 250-472-5076 HHB 120d ltsiao@uvic.ca
Executive Director Laurene Sheilds 250-721-8572 HHB 120g ltsied@uvic.ca
Assistant to the Executive Director Bo Love 250-472-5765 HHB 120 ltsiaa@uvic.ca
Associate Executive Director Evanthia Baboula ltsiaed@uvic.ca
LTSI Program Coordinator Carolyn Boss 250-472-5624 HHB 120b ltsipc@uvic.ca
CES Systems Support Coordinator Shawn Cure 250-472-4799 HHB 120j ceshelp@uvic.ca
Acting Director, Curriculum Renewal and Strategic Initiatives Viviana Pitton 250-472-5533 HHB 120j vivianapitton@uvic.ca
Communications Officer Hannah Rose ltsicomms@uvic.ca

Teaching Excellence

Director, Teaching Excellence Cynthia Korpan 250-472-4798 HHB 120k ltsidirte@uvic.ca
TAC Coordinator Gerry Gourlay 250-721-7889 HHB 120j ltsitac@uvic.ca

Technology Integrated Learning (TIL)

Director, Technology Integrated Learning Mariel Miller 250-721-8465 LIB 034b ltsidirtil@uvic.ca
Project Coordinator - LMS Craig Scharien 250-721-7562 LIB 034m tilmgr@uvic.ca
LTA Program Coordinator Alex Warrington ltsicoop@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer - Team Lead Rebecca Edwards 250-472-5747 LIB 034c rle@uvic.ca
Acting Manager - Ed Tech Support Hajime Kataoka 250-721-6123 LIB 034k kataokah@uvic.ca
Sr Learning Experience Designer Katy Chan 250-721-7842 LIB 034l kafka@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Hayley Hewson 250-721-8510 LIB 034c hhewson@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Derek Murray 250-472-5335 LIB 034k murraydj@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Deniz Unsal dunsal@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Kelsey McColgan kmccolgan@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Thiago Hinkel thiagohinkel@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Maj-Britt Marttala mbm@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Gayle Palas gpalas@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Jeff Baxter jeffbaxter@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer Randeep Nota rnota@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer - Accessibility Melissa Doyle doylem@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer - Accessibility Kim Ashbourne kashbourne@uvic.ca
Learning Experience Designer - Accessibility Caroline Quan carolineq@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Kayla Smith 250-721-8749 LIB 034d kaylas@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Babak Mirshahi bmirshahi@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Thomas Riva 250-472-5949 LIB 034e triva@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Dan Rieb drieb@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Reese Kingsley rkingsley@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Kira Chong kirac@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Ruvie Kaviya rkaviya@uvic.ca
Ed Tech Support Specialist Stephanie Eisler 250-721-6203 LIB 034f tilassistant@uvic.ca
Jr Ed Tech Specialist Brianna Bock bbock@uvic.ca
Jr Ed Tech Specialist Sparrow de Groot mkdegroot@uvic.ca

Student Academic Success

Director, Student Academic Success Shailoo Bedi 250-721-7762 HHB 120e ltsidirsas@uvic.ca
Centre for Academic Communication Manager Nancy Ami 250-853-3675 LIB 135j cacmgr@uvic.ca
Centre for Academic Communication Program Coordinator Madeline Walker LIB 135m cacpc@uvic.ca
English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist Kaveh Tagharobi 250-472-4459 LIB 135k eal2@uvic.ca
English as an Additional Language Emily Arvay 250-472-5706 LIB 135m caceal4@uvic.ca
English as an Additional Language Odivi Ghanbari caceal3@uvic.ca
Learning Strategist Sharon Dias learningstrategist1@uvic.ca
Learning Strategist John Buxcey learningstrategist2@uvic.ca
Learning Strategist Alexandr Gavrilov learningstrategist3@uvic.ca
Manager, Math & Stats Assistance Centre Jane Butterfield DTB A445 msacmgr@uvic.ca
Math & Stats Assistance Centre Acting Program Coordinator Josh Manzer DTB A202a msacpc@uvic.ca

Community-Engaged Learning (CEL)

Community-Engaged Learning Coordinator Rhianna Nagel 250-472-5667 COR B132 celc1@uvic.ca
CEL Assistant Coordinator Alexandra Haupt celc2@uvic.ca
Project Manager Suzanne Jolly sjolly@uvic.ca

Staff profiles

The Director's Office

Laurene Sheilds

Executive Director, Teaching and Learning Support and Innovation
Office: HHB 120g
Shailoo Bedi

Director, Student Academic Success
Office: Lib 410 & HHB 120e
Eva Baboula

Associate Executive Director
Marian Simmonds

Administrative Officer
Office: HHB 120d
Shawn Curé

CES Systems Support Coordinator
LTSI
Office: HHB 120j
Bo Love

Administrative Assistant to the Executive Director
LTSI
Office: HHB 120
Carolyn Boss

Program Coordinator
LTSI
Office: HHB 120b
Viviana Pitton

International Learning Coordinator
LTSI
Office: HHB 120j

Teaching Excellence

Cynthia Korpan

Director, Teaching Excellence
LTSI
Office: HHB 120k
Gerry Gourlay

TA Coordinator
LTSI
Office: HHB 120

The Centre for Academic Communication (CAC)

Nancy Ami

Manager, the Centre for Academic Communication
LTSI
Office: LIB 135j
Kaveh Tagharobi

English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist
LTSI
Office: LIB 135k
Gillian Saunders

English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist
LTSI
Office: LIB 135i
Madeline Walker

Centre for Academic Communication Coordinator
LTSI
Office: LIB 135m
Emily Arvay

English as an Additional Language (EAL) Specialist
LTSI
Office: LIB 135m

Math & Statistics Assistance Centre (MSAC)

Jane Butterfield

Math & Stats Assistance Centre Manager
LTSI and Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Office: DTB A445
Josh Manzer

Math & Stats Assistance Centre Acting Program Coordinator

Community-Engaged Learning (CEL)

Rhianna Nagel

Community-Engaged Learning Coordinator
LTSI
Office: Cornett B132