17 grads awarded for excellence

Logan Bakker sits on top of Mount Tolmie on a sunny day in Victoria.
Triple-award winner Logan Bakker takes a well-deserved break on Mount Tolmie, following his final exam.

2020 July – Seventeen students graduating from UVic Engineering and Computer Science will receive awards in recognition of their excellent academic performance. The awards are being sent to students who graduated either in July 2020 or earlier in the school year during fall 2019 convocation.

Typically, student graduation awards are presented at a ceremony during convocation. This year, because of restrictions related to COVID-19, in-person events are not possible. Instead, the faculty looks forward to celebrating with grads at some time in the future.

Logan Bakker, a Mechanical Engineering grad, receives top honours, winning three awards, including the top UVic undergraduate award – the Governor General's Silver Medal. Bakker, who graduated in November 2019, is also receiving the Canadian Society of Mechanical Engineering Medal and the Engineers and Geoscientists of BC (EGBC) Gold Medal.

Here is the complete list of our 2019-20 award winners. Our sincere congratulations to each awardee on his or her remarkable achievement.

University award

  • Logan Bakker: Governor General’s Silver Medal – Top undergraduate student
  • Jingrong Wang: Lieutenant Governor’s Silver Medal – Best master's thesis

Department and program awards

  • Logan Bakker: Canadian Society of Mechanical Engineering Medal
  • Tim Berntsen: Department of Civil Engineering Graduation Medal (co-winner)
  • Brianna Carrels: IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Biomedical Engineering
  • Shreyas Devalapurkar: IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Software Engineering
  • Elio Ferri: Department of Computer Science Honours Graduation Medal
  • Shiyi Huo: Department of Computer Science Graduation Medal
  • Laura Kissack: IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Computer Engineering
  • Zak Papas: Department of Civil Engineering Graduation Medal (co-winner)
  • Kai Ren: IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Electrical Engineering

Other awards

  • Mike Adams:EGBC Achievement Award in Electrical Engineering
  • Logan Bakker: EGBC Gold Medal
  • Paul Formanek: Andreas Antoniou Medal for Digital Signal Processing
  • Ben Klammer: EGBC Achievement Award in Mechanical Engineering
  • Cidnee Luu: EGBC Achievement Award in Biomedical Engineering
  • Torrey Randolph: EGBC Achievement Award in Software Engineering
  • Mak Rokic: EGBC Achievement Award in Civil Engineering
  • Sam Wheating: EGBC Achievement Award in Computer Engineering

2020Jul15 AT

UVic top academic award recipients for 2020
ECS student graduation awards by year