Skip to main content

Elliott (ELL)

The Elliott Building (ELL) contains:

  • Faculty of Science
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Centre for Advanced Materials and Related Technology (CAMTEC)
  • Victoria Subatomic Physics and Accelerator Research (VISPA)



Percy Harris Elliott (1882 - 1943) lectured in both physics and chemistry at Victoria College, the predecessor to the University of Victoria (UVic). He served as college principal from 1927 to 1943.

The Elliott Building is the former home of the Climenhaga observatory. The UVic telescope now resides in the Bob Wright Centre (BWC).

John L. Climenhaga was the founding head of the Physics department and served as dean of arts and science from 1969 to 1972.

The laboratory and office wings were constructed in 1963. The adjoining lecture wing was constructed in 1964.