Skip to main content

Cunningham (CUN)

The Cunningham Building (CUN) contains the Department of Biology, Centre for Forest Biology and many specialized research facilities, such as animal care laboratories and a biohazard laboratory.

Rick Hansen Foundation Accessibility Certification™ report for CUN.

Map

History

CUN was designed by architects Arthur Erickson and Geoffrey Massey and was completed in 1971.

Jeffree Aikin Cunningham (1886-1974) was a student and later biology instructor and department head at Victoria College, the University of Victoria's (UVic) predecessor. He served as college registrar from 1933 to 1944 and vice-principal from 1944 to 1951. In appreciation of his contributions, he received UVic’s first honourary LLD degree in 1964.