Recognition Award recipients


Recognition Award recipients were announced Feb. 18 at the tenth UVic Women’s Conference, “Celebrating Possibilities.” Recipients are chosen for their outstanding performance, excellent leadership and contributions which impact UVic and the community. The 2009 award recipients are: Tricia Best, counsellor, UVic Counselling Services, who established the Student Leadership Program; Lauren Charlton, associate registrar, Undergraduate Records, a key player in establishing the Lou-Poy Child Care Comlex; Rebecca Johnson, associate professor, Faculty of Law, a pioneer in the field of women and the law; Rebecca Michaels, senior facility assistant, Clearihue Computing Facility, who is a member of the executive of the UVic Professional Employees Association, a history in art grad, and perhaps even better known as her superhero alter ego “Computer Girl;” Marie Page, departmental and graduate secretary and administrative officer, Department of Anthropology, who provides unwavering support to all in her job and through a wide range of community involvements; Dawn Marie Smith, community internship coordinator, LE, NONET, a superb role model and support for Indigenous students and Indigenous women in particular; Eileen van der Flier-Keller, associate professor, Earth and Ocean Sciences, who has long demonstrated exceptional dedication to excellence in science teaching at UVic and in the schools; and Laurie Whyte, Library Technical Services and chief steward and union counselling referral officer, CUPE 951, who has worked tirelessly to create and improve a supportive and inclusive environment at UVic. More:

In this story

Keywords: recognition, award, recipients

Related stories