Writing MFA wins emerging writer award

Fine Arts

- John Threlfall

Erin Frances Fisher, graduating this month with an MFA in Writing, was announced on May 27 as the winner of the 20th annual Writers’ Trust RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers. Her $5,000-winning short story, “Girl,” was selected from a field of 133 blind submissions and described by jurors “as vast and satisfying as a great novel . . . [she] is a writer you will see again.” (Also in the top-three finalists: former writing student Leah Jane Essau.)

Fisher has previously won PRISM International’s 2011 fiction prize and The Malahat Review’s 2012 Open Season Competition. This is the third Bronwen Wallace Award won by Writing students; MFA alumnus Garth Martens won in 2011 and BFA alumna Marjorie Celona won in 2008.


The winning and nominated stories can be downloaded free at iTunes.com/BronwenWallace.

In this story

Keywords: award, writing

People: Erin Frances Fisher

Related stories