Spring 2017 Convocation

Congratulations to all of our grads! Photo: UVic Photo Services.

Thousands of UVic students and their families and friends will gather on campus this June to celebrate the achievement of an academic milestone. During Spring Convocation from June 12–16, ceremonies will be held to confer 3,641 degrees, diplomas and certificates. Congratulations, grads!

Convocation ceremonies will be webcast live and archived online. View the schedule.

Featured convocation stories

Major medal winners

  • Ryan Blackler, PhD Biochemistry - Governor General's Gold Medal
  • Nicholas Benson, BSc Computer Science and Mathematics - Governor General's Silver Medal
  • Sabina Trimble, MA History - Lieutenant Governor's Silver Medal (thesis)
  • Alexandra Macdonald, MA Art History and Visual Studies - Lieutenant Governor's Silver Medal (other than thesis) 
  • Christiana Moser, BA Linguistics, Language and Speech - Jubilee Medal for Humanities
  • Chadi Saad-Roy, BSC mathematics and statistics - Jubilee Medal for Science
  • Armon Alamolhoda, BSc Economics - Jubilee Medal for Social Sciences
  • Alexa Brisbin, BEd Elementary Teacher Education - Maxwell A. Cameron Memorial Award
  • Stewart Lucas, BEd Secondary Teacher Education - Maxwell A. Cameron Memorial Award
  • Margaret Lingas, Music - Victoria Medal in Fine Arts
  • Madeline Reid, JD Law - Law Society Gold Medal and Prize
  • Laura Monchak, BSc Nursing - Certificate of Outstanding Academic Distinction in HSD
  • Devon Rose Chan, BSc Kinesiology - Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology Undergraduate Student Award
  • Michael Ravensbergen, BEng Mechanical Engineering - Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering Medal
  • Matthew Clarkson, BSc Computer Science - Department of Computer Science Graduation Medal
  • Hee Chui Kim, BEng Computer Engineering - IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Computer Engineering
  • Kieran Hartford, BEng Electrical Engineering - IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Electrical Engineering
  • Nicolas Guillemot, BEng Software Engineering - IEEE Victoria Section Gold Medal in Software Engineering

Honorary degree recipients

Honorary degrees—the university’s highest academic honour—will be presented to six exceptional individuals during spring Convocation ceremonies.

  • Joy Kogawa, Honorary Doctor of Letters
  • Timothy Vernon, Honorary Doctor of Music
  • Brian Lo, Honorary Doctor of Laws
  • Christina Munck, Honorary Doctor of Science
  • Murray Farmer, Honorary Doctor of Laws
  • Paul Nicklen, Honorary Doctor of Science

Read more about our honorary degree recipients.



In this story

Keywords: convocation, degrees, graduates, graduation, student life

Related stories